Makeover Monday

So this week was not nearly as productive as I had hoped, but as Moodswinging Mommy pointed out to me I had a lot of goals. Let’s see how they paned out.

wakeup and hour before the baby so I can get some stuff done around the house calmly and properly, not rushed.

Yeah, not so much. Well to start out with MJ picked this week to decide that the morning schedule that had been previously working for her was bogus. We also had a couple of really bad teething/trying to crawl nights that made sleep next to impossible. So, my rating for achieving this goal is 2 out of 7.

keep up with the laundry

I kept up with the diapers. Does that count? No seriously, I was on top of the laundry until the weekend hit and then it just seemed so much more important to spend time with CableDad as he is so busy during the week. I said fuck it on the laundry pile. I’ll get to that when I put MJ down for her morning nap.

clean the kitchen before going to bed.

Again, I’d have to say that I wasn’t entirely successful here either, but I certainly made and effort. Maybe 5 nights this week I went to bed with a nice clean polished sink and clean counter tops. However, I kept thinking to myself as I was doing it, “Why the hell am I not taking this time to sleep?”

find the time to shower each and every day. (sounds gross, yes I know, but MJ is demanding and there is very little time in my day for things that don’t include her.)

I mostly did ok with this. On the days that I workout it’s not a problem. Everyone in the house wants me to shower. On days that I didn’t workout it was harder. MJ does not like to be left alone and taking her in the shower with me (thanks for that suggestion Jenn) didn’t quite work out. She’s not willing to sit still in a bouncy seat anymore and the tile floor of the shower is just too rough to let her belly crawl around. She likes the shower when I’m holding her, but neither one of us got clean that way. One morning I handed her to her father and said, “Here, Munchkin, Daddy’s going to watch you for awhile whether he wants to or not so I can take a shower and brush my teeth.” He was a little surprised, but didn’t argue too much. Maybe that’s what it requires, shocking him into cooperating. πŸ˜€

Go on a date with CableDad

Well, the necessary elements were there. We got my mother and step-father to come down to our house on Friday night so we could get out of the house alone together without the baby. Unfortunately, this did not lead to a date night… not unless you call practicing CPR on mannequins your idea of a date. It wasn’t quite what I had in mind.

My goals for this week? I still want a daily shower and I still want to go on a date with my hubby. Other than that I need to get to the post office to send out the CDs I’ve promised to friends. I also like the idea of waking up early enough to have to quite time to myself in the morning, but we’ll see how MJ feels about that.

~ by CableGirl on Monday, June 4, 2007.

6 Responses to “Makeover Monday”

  1. Hey! I linked right in from your comment!
    Sorry that the shower thing didn’t work so well. Keep at it, eventually it will be a lifesaver! Or a smellsaver, whatever.

    Goals are great. I set them too, just so I can not reach them. πŸ™‚

  2. hey you carried me over too :), thanks..
    Anyways like this new site of yours, is it just the appearance that has changed, or are you planning to change anything content wise πŸ™‚

  3. Congratulations! That’s a lot to do. The shower thing gets easier, eventually! But I still struggle to find time even now to get a morning shower, or any at all some days!

  4. Not bad for the first week, it’ll take a few weeks to get into a good habit so just think of it that way.

  5. Hi! See if I can keep up with your girl! How about “surprising” CableDad more often. Lars and I have devided the day, I get mornings, he gets afternoons. I am using my mornings for dissertation related work (you know, that other baby in my life)… So if I want to be productive, my morning coffe and my shower are pretty rushed. Mathias is now 5 months and 1 week. Let’s see how many more mornings I get in the next months…
    Hugs. Love your site.
    S

  6. sacra – We’re working out a schedule. Unfortunately CableDad works crazy hours. He’s at the office from 8 until 6 and then usually has to work once he returns home. It’s a rough schedule on both of us.

    Silver – You’re right. It is a matter of changing my lifestyle. baby steps. baby steps.

    Jenn – I’m not too surer I expect to reach them, but it’s always good to have something to strive for. (and I hate myself for ending that sentence in a preposition.)

    rambler – Well, as I said in post ’42’ I plan to make this blog a little more… me focused. I will obviously still be talking about MJ A LOT since she is what fills up most of my day these days, but I also need an outlet for me. So here we are.

    Smiling Mom – My greatest downfall has always been trying to do too many things at once. lol. I haven’t given up on the shower thing yet. I’ll keep trying to bring her in with me. She does love the shower when we do it after she’s been in the pool. I just haven’t mastered actually getting both of us clean that way yet. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

 
