Blogger sucks!

Little did I know when I first started this whole blogging thing that blogger was a lame-ass piece of shit service. Had I known then what I know now I’d have never gone near it. Not only does it eat posts and make it incredibly difficult to do simple things like text and image formatting but this morning I discovered that I can’t even change the email address associated with my blog.

You may wonder why it is that I care at all about this since I have permanently migrated over to WordPress (which rocks, by the way). I’ll tell you. I recently changed my email address. I thought that after all these years it was stupid that my address was still my maiden name. This in itself probably wouldn’t be too much of an issue if it weren’t that I use (and like) gmail. Of course, Google now runs blogger so you have to log into your blogger account with your gmail address. Great. No problem. Or is it?

Yes, in fact this is exactly the problem. I happen to like most Google products so I use a personalized Google page as my homepage. This homepage is, of course, tied to my email address. Two nights ago I went through the whole process of migrating all of that information over, which, when you have 20+ blogs in a Google Reader, is quite the pain in the ass I might add. So here’s the deal: I can’t be logged into my own Google homepage, checking blogs on my reader and actually respond to any of them without signing out and resigning in to MY OLD EMAIL account since in their ultimate wisdom the geniuses at blogger decided that you can’t change your email login information. This required me to go through an create and entirely new blogger account just so I can continue to read and reply to blogs I like.

Is this a huge deal? Of course not. In the grand scheme of things it hardly effects my life at all. But it is a royal pain in the ass since the solution to this problem is so easy. Why on earth does a blogger account HAVE to be connected to my gmail address?

Sometimes tech geeks are real idiots. (I can say this with a fair amount of assurance since I’m married to one. ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

~ by CableGirl on Tuesday, June 19, 2007.

5 Responses to “Blogger sucks!”

  1. Bossy gets so perplexed by technology that her stomach twists in a knot and she throws up a little in her mouth.

  2. Ah-hah, now I understand why your comment came through with a new name today. I am sorry that you had to jump through the hoops of the geeks, but I am glad you did it, so you can still say a little something at my place.
    But can I ask you to do one more thing? Will you go back in and tick the box that allows your email address to display? Then when I get comments from you I can reply to you directly via email. Which I like to do, especially if I want to say something sassy and off color. ๐Ÿ™‚
    By the way, don’t sweat the pound, and hooray for new teeth!

  3. Meh, I like Google as well, but I think that they are getting a little too big for their britches…they are trying to take over the web and going about it the wrong way. Not good for customer satisfaction.

  4. Ah, that’s why I had to approve you as a commenter again. Blogger used to piss me off. Now I am also a happy WordPress person.

  5. I agree. It is frustrating.

Leave a Reply

 
