Friday Fifteen

In honor of the 12:01 am release of the 7th and final book, I bring you Fifteen reasons to love Harry Potter:

  1. Snape – I mean, really, who doesn’t love an awesome bad guy. By the way, I think Alan Rickman is genius in his portrayal of Severus.
  2. Dumbledore’s speeches.
  3. The Whomping Willow
  4. Talking paintings – specifically Sir Cadogan
  5. mail carrying owls
  6. animagi
  7. Quiddich sounds like the only game that might be cooler than soccer.
  8. Apparation and disapparation
  9. Honeyduke’s Sweets Shop
  10. For that matter, all of Hogsmeade
  11. How about Diagon Alley
  12. Creative and original stories
  13. So many people love the books that you’re never at a loss for someone with whom you can discuss them.
  14. The books get kids who might not be readers reading anyway.
  15. The books are infinitely re-readable.

Friday Fifteen

~ by CableGirl on Friday, July 20, 2007.

9 Responses to “Friday Fifteen”

  1. Yeeaa! A fellow adult HP follower (seems like there’s several of us in the community. Found you via Jenn In Holland and I’ll be back after vacation (see my Friday fifteen!)

  2. #1 does it for me, as you can tell! I didn’t care for Snape in the books…but oooh in the movies!

    Also, centaurs, unicorns, Fang, thestrals, and all manner of magical creatures!

  3. #1 I TOTALL agree! Alan Rickman is one of my favs!

    Aren’t you ezcited about book 7?

    Happy Weekend!

  4. I’m also a big Harry Potter fan. This may be pathetic to some, but when the last book came out, my husband went to the bookstore that night and bought a second copy so that we could both read it at the same time. I can’t wait!

  5. I also found you through Jenn in Holland. I LOVE your blog. The wind clip was hysterical.
    I love Harry Potter, too, and am really feeling mixed about the final book coming out. But I completely agree about Snape being amazing, along with Alan Rickman, who I can watch in anything.
    Alex, we did the same thing in buying two copies…

  6. Alex – it’s so NOT pathetic. I had ordered the last one on line and couldn’t wait for it to be delivered so I went to the store on release day to buy another copy. When the other was delivered a few days later, hubby got his copy. lol

    Jen – Thanks! It’s always so nice to get blog compliments. Isn’t The Wind the best?

    hehe.. there really do seem to be quite a few of us Potter fans in the blog-o-sphere. 🙂 I’m actually kind of bummed because I had pre-ordered a copy for the midnight madness party at my local bookstore but now I won’t be able to pick it up until tomorrow!!!

  7. Mines arriving tomorrow from Amazon!! Can’t wait!

  8. Too, too true!
    Alan Rickman rocks. And I would LOVE to wander Hogsmeade. Fancy a trip?

  9. what about Gilderoy Lockhart (and Kenneth Brannagh’s portrayal of him)?
    and Prof Trelawney and divination class… too funny!

Leave a Reply

 
