Shelfari

Thanks to Rambler I have a new toy.

I received an email from him this morning inviting me to join Shelfari.  Shelfari is an online community of readers where you can create your own bookshelf, stocked with the books you’ve read, and find other readers with whom you can discuss those books.  What a great idea!

I started posting up my so-called “reviews” of books that I have encountered in the past month or so in hopes that people who had read them might join in on a discussion of the books with me.  So far that venture has been fairly unsuccessful, although with my most recent “review” of the Life of Pi (and yes, I do choose to keep the term”review” quotation marks because I hardly think my ramblings about these books are nearly well structured enough to be called proper reviews.) I was a little closer to my goal.  So a big thank you to Becky and Fourier Analyst for contributing your opinions on the book.

This is also the reason I post up my “next in line” bit at the end of each “review”.  I’m always  hoping someone will read the book with me and then wish to discuss it.

But I digress.  Shelfari.  I have now set up my homepage and have stocked my personal bookshelf with those books I have already posted about.  Instead of creaking a bookshelf full of books I have read over the past 30+ years (my god, would that even be possible?) I am going to make this a list of present to future reads.   If you are a reader come join me on Shelfari.  Sign up and add me to your friends list.  Let’s get some literary discussion going!

As an aside:  Yes, I know I said I wasn’t going to post this weekend while I was reading Harry Potter, but I’m currently taking a short break to allow CableDad to catch up.  I read pretty quickly and he was nice enough to be on baby duty this morning so I could sleep in after staying up late and reading.  Half way done!!  woohoo!

~ by CableGirl on Sunday, July 22, 2007.

5 Responses to “Shelfari”

  1. We should do this, start a book together, always have liked sharing my opinion and hearing a lot more …

  2. Rambler – I think that’s a great idea. I’m about half way through the last Potter book then I need to finish My Name Is Red. When I’m done with that one we can pick book to read together. 🙂

  3. Oh, dear… Shelfari sounds like way too much fun. I think I’m going to have to go check it out.

  4. Thanks for mentioning Shelfari. I currently work there. Glad you are enjoying the site. Have you seen our blog widget? You can show off your book shelf right here!

    Also, checkout our new Harry Potter Contest…http://www.shelfari.com/harrypotter/

    Add me as a friend
    “schaufferwaffer”

  5. I’ve had Shelfari for awhile…to answer the question you sent me. It’s pretty cool, and like you, I’ve just put stuff that I’ve read from this year. I’m way behind on reviews though.

Leave a Reply

 
