It’s over.

Never fear, if you haven’t finished reading The Deathly Hallows I’m not going to ruin it for you. There are no spoilers in this post. I am, however, infinitely sad that the series is done.

I didn’t pick up my copy of the new book until late Saturday afternoon after realizing that the copy I had put on hold for the midnight madness was unavailable. Ok, the copy was not unavailable, but I certainly was. I didn’t actually get to sit down in comfort and start reading until Saturday evening after dinner but my last night I was done. I couldn’t help myself. All my talk about savoring the book, out the window. Call it paranoia. I just wasn’t willing to let some moron let something slip about the ending of the book and ruin it for me before I got there.

I have to say, I really think J.K.R. went out with style. She wrapped up all the dangling story lines and brought the 4000+ page adventure to a thrilling and satisfying end. I won’t lie. I cried more than once. I also laughed out loud frequently. Everything I had hoped to find in this final chapter of the series I have been slavishly following for 7 years (yes, I got caught up in the Harry Potter madness late in the series) made an appearance. Flashbacks and explanations. Friendships and arguments. The return of those whose presences I longed to read about once more. It was all there.

And now it’s over. I know I can always go back and read the books again, and I will, but there is something about the loss of the anticipation of the next installment in the series that takes some of the joy out of it for me. Of course there are still two more movies, but I’m ever more sure that no film adaptation will do this story justice. Besides, that certain pleasure I get from reading a book is patently missing in movie versions.

Good bye Harry, Hermione, Ron, Fred, George, Neville, Luna, Ginny, Snape, Hagrid and everyone else. I’ll miss you.

~ by CableGirl on Monday, July 23, 2007.

7 Responses to “It’s over.”

  1. I agree that JK ended the book with style, gave the fans a very satisfying ending. I’ll miss the characters too…but maybe…just maybe…

  2. I just now put the book down, having read the final word,and I echo your goodbye to these great friends.
    Man, it sure was a good exit, though.

  3. Goodbye Severus. how i have loved you. lol

  4. Perfectly said. I felt the same way on so many issues. And I have to admit, I cried a lot too- hello… Dobby?? Is he not the best elf in the entire world??

  5. I am sad that the series is over. It was so much fun anticipating her new books. While the book answered almost all of my questions, I still have a couple of minor questions/points. I figure I’ll wait another week and then post my questions on my blog.

  6. As you know, I felt a similar way – I think we all need to get an e-mail conversation going now, lol. I need people to discuss this with!!!

  7. I felt the same way. I was happy with the ending but highly disappointed we wouldn’t be reading more stories about these wonderful characters and their fascinating world… I hope she writes more books about muggles & wizards, even if it’s not about Harry, Hermione and Ron…

Leave a Reply

 
