And they call themselves Christians???

I am always flabergasted how people like this can call themselves Christians.  My only guess is that they have either not read the Bible or have no idea what any of it means.

Fred Phelps and his pack of Baptist loonies are now threatening to protest at the funerals of the victims of the 35W bridge collapse in Minnesota because they claim the accident was no accident but an acto of God’s vengence on the people for their tolerance of homosexuality.  Mind you, these are the same quacks who claim that 9/11 was also God’s punishment on Americans and frequently protest the funerals of American G.I.s killed in Iraq.

I’m not a particularly religious person, I don’t go to church, but I can say with a free and easy conscience that I obvioulsy understand the message of love and forgiveness much better than these hate mongers.  People like this make me sick.

If only closed minds came with closed mouths….

~ by CableGirl on Friday, August 10, 2007.

9 Responses to “And they call themselves Christians???”

  1. I think I posted a video on my site awhile back about a family along the same vein, it was absolutely appaling.

  2. According to me, religion is the world’s most wrongly interpreted subject… There are so many good things in so many religions which never gets the visibility which it should

  3. We had a group of wonderful kids at our local high school plan a fabulous diversity day with gay/lesbian/bi/transgendered as the theme. They had great speakers coming in, courageous students who were willing to speak and officially come out, parents and teachers speaking in support, etc., etc. Fred Phelps and crew came to protest. When the A2 cops wouldn’t let them protest on, or within 100 feet of the high school property, Phelps and crew called in bomb threats to the school to try to clear it. It didn’t work, but yeah, your posts is aptly titled.

  4. That’s pretty friggin insane. And sick. How can they protest any service to acknowledge and celebrate the memory of someones life???

  5. There is something seriously wrong with those people. It makes me sick just to think about them protesting. I can’t even imagine being distraught with grief at a loved one’s funeral and having those idiots there protesting. I had heard that they were doing that (or had planned to do that) at soldiers’ funerals as well. Great post title!

  6. That’s how people behave when they repress their own sexualities.

  7. These fools are a part of a cult not christianity. The have their own compound and are so insulated with their ring of inbred crazy family members. Fred and his crazy kids have been creating their own versions & interpretations of the bible for years and years now. You should see the crap they spew on their websites. I’m betting there is a special seat in hell right next to the devil himself for goold ole Fred and his daughter.

  8. I think this is the same group recently featured on a BBC report. Nauseating, every word they spoke. It’s unbelievable that there are people out there spewing this kind of hate and getting away with it.
    Unbelievable.
    I have a very different definition of what a christian is supposed to act like.

  9. I think that’s why so many of us call ourselves “Believers” now. People hear the word Christian and don’t think of Christ. That said, Fred Phelps gives me the screaming heebies.

Leave a Reply

 
