Makeover Monday

I have been a little bit of a posting recluse this past week for a few reasons. Something BIG is in the air and I don’t want to comment on it until I’m sure it’s going to happen. I promise as soon as I’m more secure about my next move I will talk more freely. In the meantime, please accept my apology for being absent this past weekend.

Onward: Let me go over last week’s MakeOver goals and see how well I did.

* * * * * * * *

1) Still have to get to the Post Office. Let’s see if I can bring myself to do it this week.

Yeah, that so did not happen. Sorry, Kelly, maybe this week.

2)Find a babysitter for MJ for Friday night so CableDad and I can go out and help my little brother celebrate his 14 birthday at the restaurant of his choice.

Score one for the team. My mother and step-father took MJ on Friday night and CableDad and I were able to join Alejandro in celebrating his 14th birthday. But wait! There’s more. We also got the bonus package deal. Saturday night we had plans to bring MJ up to our friends’ house for dinner. They have a baby boy one month younger than she is and the two of them play well together. Sadly, at the last moment our friends canceled but when we went to my mother’s house to pick MJ up it was suggeted that we leaver her for another night and instead go out with my other little brother (although as he’s 22 and well over 6 feet I’m sure he doesn’t wish to be called “little”) and his friend to watch the UFC (Ultimate Fighting Championship – Yes, I like watching mixed martial arts fights. So sue me.) at a local bar. Saturday night was an historic event. CableDad and I swapped “kids” with my step-father and spent a night out on the town. We actually stayed out past 8 pm…. past 10 pm… past midnight. We rolled on into the house at about 1:30 am. Man, am I proud of us. 😀

3)Keep up with the water goals

Again, not entirely successful. Yes, I’ve been doing steadily better, but I’m still not consistent. This week I’m taking SilverNeurotic‘s advice and I am going to have that bottle of water ready and waiting for me all day every day.

4)Keep up with my Kung Fu goals.

Did well this week. I have managed to get someone to watch MJ for me for 2 hours on Mondays so I can go to Kung Fu and on Wednesday CableDad has agreed to come home early and work from home so I can go to class then too. Saturday was a bonus day. I managed to make it to a Saturday class as well. My goal is 3 classes per week. Hopefully I can keep this up.

5)Update GnuCash each night.

Miraculously I have kept up with this as well. Hopefully I’m on my way to fiscal responsibility. Just joking. I’m not bad. I just am an anal retentive freak who needs to have everything written down so I can use it as a reference point “just in case”. On line banking isn’t sufficient for me since it sometimes takes a few days for transactions to go through. Yes, I’m *that* compulsive.

This weeks goals?

  1. Water water everywhere and all of it to drink.
  2. Suck it up buttercup. Go to the freaking post office already!
  3. Kung Ffu 3x this week.
  4. Keep up the good work with the GnuCash
  5. Sign up for and take a CPR certification class.
  6. Purchase study aids for my ACE (American Council on Exercise) certification
  7. Sign up for my ACE certification exam ( I probably won’t take it for a month)

These last three goals are interrelated and have a lot to do with the “something BIG” I mentioned earlier.

* * * * * * * *

Want to play? Here’s what to do:

1. Choose a goal. (It can be a new one each week or something more long-term.)

2. Write a Makeover Monday post to share your goal for the week ahead. State whether or not you accomplished your goal from the previous week. Brag away! If you are working towards a long-term goal, report on your progress.

3. Leave a comment here and let me know you’re rooting for me.

4. Spread the good karma by visiting other Makeover Monday participants to encourage and congratulate them on their own makeovers.

5. Feel the love coming right back at you!

~ by CableGirl on Monday, August 27, 2007.

6 Responses to “Makeover Monday”

  1. Ah, you’re like me…not wanting to talk about things until they are in the bag…whatever it is, I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you.

  2. What’s in the air besides pollution???
    A/D

  3. Okay you now have my attention

  4. Looks like a pretty successful week!

  5. I’m so impressed that you were able to get out! My husband and I really need to arrange for a sitter for a date night. I keep a water bottle out all day near me and constantly refill it. That’s the only way I drink enough water. My friend starts each morning with a fresh Poland Springs bottle or whatever company and then refills it throughout the day.

  6. Is this mythical post office incredibly far away? 😛

Leave a Reply

 
