a never ending pile of laundry

Now I know a good portion of this is my own fault.  I made the decision long before she was born that I would use only cloth diapers on MJ.  That is certainly a contributing factor to my laundry pile since she goes through about 8-10 diapers a day.  The other contributing factor was my decision to use far fewer paper towels.  I have cloth towels now, about 30 of them, that I use whenever possible instead of paper.  Save the trees and all that.

But even those two things considered, the pile of laundry I had facing me today was beyond belief.  All kidding aside I did 6 loads.  Part of the problem is CableDad’s conviction that it is not possible for him to wear a pair of jeans more than once before they need to be cleaned.  Come on.  Seriously?  It’s not like he’s out making mud patties.  (To be honest most days I just refold the jeans and sneak them back into his closet.  “Yes, dear.  They’re clean.”) Every towel in the house was dirty.  How the heck does that happen?  Honestly, I do the laundry at least once a week.  How could we have had no clean towels?  I tell you, I was rather distressed this morning when I discovered this fact stepping out of the shower, dripping wet with no towel to be found.

load 1: towels

load 2: CableDad’s jeans and t-shirts

load 3: diapers

load 4: my shorts and shirts

load 5: whites

load 6: delicates

still to do: another load of diapers and a load of baby clothes.

Good thing this is a long weekend. lol

~ by CableGirl on Sunday, September 2, 2007.

2 Responses to “a never ending pile of laundry”

  1. See my comments, above. The thing I keep grappling with is washing towels and using water, detergent, etc., versus the paper towel thing… still haven’t figured out which is worse. Do you have any hard and fast evidence on that? I’m just curious.

  2. Jen Good point. I have no evidence. Sad to say, I should, but I don’t. What spurred me to this decision was witnessing the incredible amount of waste Americans have no problem producing. I’ve often thought about the excess water use. I mean, I wash so many diapers every week, how could I not think about it. With diapers is seems to me to be a no brainer. Water usage is much better than countless landfills full of plastic. The paper towels is a different story, that is, it *would* be a different story if more people composted them or even recycled. I don’t worry about the issues with detergent because I use all natural detergents that are completely phosphate free etc.

    Our society is simply so wasteful I think that every little bit has to help.

Leave a Reply

 
