Makeover Monday

This was quite a productive week. I accomplished nearly every one of my goals this week. Ok, not the post office, but I think we all knew I wasn’t going to get that done.

I don’t know what my issue with the post office is. It is my own personal nemesis. If I were Superman, the post office would be my Lex Luthor; f I were James Bond, it would be Blofeld; if I were Scratchy, it would be Itchy; if I were…. well, you get the picture. It is certainly a psychological block. Maybe it’s all of those “going postal” stories. Maybe it’s the florescent lights. Maybe it’s because I find it difficult to keep MJ entertained in line. Who knows. What I do know is that I dread having to make that trek. I tried an experiment once. I went to MailBoxes Etc instead. Yeah, not so much. Didn’t help. Perhaps I’m just allergic to stamps or envelope glue. Whatever the case is, I just can’t seem to drag my ass to the damned post office.

Ok, so knowing in advance that I didn’t go to the post office, let me review my week’s goals:

1) Water water everywhere and all of it to drink.

Yup. I kept a HUGE cup full of water with me all day while in the house and when I left I refilled my plastic travel mug with Britta from the fridge. Part of my problem with drinking water is that I hate it when water goes stale. Yes, it is possible for water to taste stale. I hate water that’s been sitting around for more than an hour or so. So, problem solved. Britta in the fridge and travel cup with me all day and I managed to drink at least 5 glasses a day. Not quite the recommended amount, but it was more than usual and I was consistent all week.

2) Suck it up buttercup. Go to the freaking post office already!

Moving swiftly on….
3) Kung Ffu 3x this week.

Yup. Well mostly. I went twice, but the missing day wasn’t my fault. I went to the class on Monday (forms and weapons fighting) and Wednesday (forms and sparring) but because of the holiday weekend, the studio was closed on Saturday.

4) Keep up the good work with the GnuCash.

I’ve been really consistent with this. Only one problem. CableDad keeps forgetting to bring home receipts for me. After two instances of me threatening him (yes, I stooped that low) he has agreed to just stuff all receipt sin his pants pockets or wallet and forget about them. I will take the initiative and sort through his crap to see what he’s been spending money on.

5) Sign up for and take a CPR certification class.

I didn’t register yet but I did locate the time and place for the class.

6) Purchase study aids for my ACE (American Council on Exercise) certification

Purchased and they arrived in the mail on Saturday.

7) Sign up for my ACE certification exam

I’m holding off on this one until I have a chance to get through the first chapter andd I really have an idea how long it will take me to prepare.

New week, new goals:

  1. Keep drinking water. Increase my daily intake to 8 glasses.
  2. Go to the post office. (yeah, I know. fat chance, but at this point it seems like a staple.)
  3. Kung Fu. Since the studio is closed for Labor Day I won’t be able to go 3 times, but I can hit 2 classes this week: Wednesday and Saturday.
  4. Track down all the receipts CableDad hides in his pockets this week and enter the information into GnuCash.
  5. Prepare for the two big weekend adventures I’ve got coming up. (more on those later.)

* * * * * * * *

Want to play? Here’s what to do:

1. Choose a goal. (It can be a new one each week or something more long-term.)

2. Write a Makeover Monday post to share your goal for the week ahead. State whether or not you accomplished your goal from the previous week. Brag away! If you are working towards a long-term goal, report on your progress.

3. Leave a comment here and let me know you’re rooting for me.

4. Spread the good karma by visiting other Makeover Monday participants to encourage and congratulate them on their own makeovers.

5. Feel the love coming right back at you!

~ by CableGirl on Monday, September 3, 2007.

2 Responses to “Makeover Monday”

  1. I have the same enmity with the post office. And again, I don’t know why. You might try making that your ONLY goal next week, and see if it gets done? BTW… I have a similar “at home” relationship with the family laundry, lol.

  2. I hate the post office too, and the worst part…it’s never really crowded when I go so I can’t even put if off because of that.

Leave a Reply

 
