Onesies by Swiffer

+ = a good idea??? No, a GREAT idea.

Is it terrible that I wish something like that existed? I mean, she’s all over the floor anyway and with three cats…

I do my best, honestly, to keep the fur under control but we have hard wood floors and even with a vacuuming once a week and three Swiffer excursions in between, MJ is always covered in fur. She wants to crawl all over the floor all the time. Great! She’s a baby and that’s what babies do. I get that. More power to her. You go girl, figure out that whole movement thing. I’m all in favor. (Ok, maybe not *all* in favor. I do miss those days when I could put her down, walk away and return knowing she hadn’t moved.) But somehow she manages to find the largest fur deposits. She is a natural born Dust Bunny Harvester. Of course, to MJ, dust bunnies (in out house they tend to be more in the realm of moose than bunnies) are a delicacy, just like paper, cat food and insects (not that my house is a repository of insects, but I mentioned the problem here).

So, since two rules of housekeeping are floors get dirty and babies crawl, why the hell hasn’t someone come up with a baby duster? Onesies by Swiffer? Is it a fear of child labor laws? Because, I swear, MJ loves chasing down the fur. She’s actually better at it than I am. I mean, she gets into all of those really hard to reach spots that I just can’t, well, reach.

Of course, it doesn’t help that I like to dress her in black. She has a vast array of black onesies with pippy logos on them like, “AB/CD For those about to walk” and “Mommy Rocks” and “Sleep is for the Weak”. As we all know, black clothing is a fur magnet, especially when said fur is light in color. Well, Tiger has a white belly and Eleanor is a long haired light grey kitty.

I swear, if I didn’t think that she’d just pull the things off and eat them, I’d sew Swiffer duster pads to her tummy and send her off into the great wide world, the chair leg forests and under bed caverns.

~ by CableGirl on Monday, September 3, 2007.

8 Responses to “Onesies by Swiffer”

  1. I don’t have kids, but I do think this is a good idea. You are ahead of your time lady. Patent this idea!!

  2. that is an AWESOME idea!!! haha!

    (ps….thanks for reading the first chapter of my book. I really appreciate the kind words!)

  3. First and foremost I must say – I LOVE that you named your blog 42!! I got it immediatly. LOVE IT!!!

    The idea of a swiffer onesie is fantastic too…and, I too wonder why I didn’t realize those “sitting nicely on a blanket with a rattle” were pure bliss. Oh, mabye its because we also weren’t getting any sleep….

    And…I too have wished I blogged on wordpress. Is it really better?

  4. Just invest in one of those lint remover things…let her crawl a bit and use the lint thing on regular increments…perfect.

  5. We have the same problem in our house with the 2 cats and a golden retriever. I finally had to tell the grandparents no navy blue, particularly no navy blue corduroys, for my older son after I saw the preschool teachers picking fur off their clothes that had transferred from his clothes when they helped him out of his car seat during the drop off line. I feel like I’m always vacuuming. Hey, I would buy your product! I just spent a good half hour “de-furring” my living room for book club tomorrow night only to have just about everyone cancel on me.

  6. nice idea :), MJ seems to be having more fun than any of us 🙂

  7. What a GREAT (and hysterical) idea! My DH used to want onesies covered with velcro, so you could just stick the baby somewhere and he’d stay…

  8. ok… i found your blog when i googled “swiffer onesies” because i was seriously wondering if anyone has come up with one yet. my little guy is doing the army crawl now (which is all belly) and i was so disgusted by his onesie covered with cat hair yesterday that i am resolving to swiffer every morning (and i’m NOT at all a clean freak). i’m seriously thinking about just putting a swiffer cloth on his onesie and see how that goes.

Leave a Reply

 
