Poker Run

This is very un-Zen-like of me to say (Can I make up words like that?) but I’m really looking forward to next weekend. Just to clarify: when I say “next weekend” I don’t mean the next one we encounter. I mean the one after that. It’s a confusing turn of phrase, I suppose, since the weekend of the 7th, 8th and 9th is technically next, but to me that is “this weekend”. I say I am (here we go again with the fake word) un-Zen-like because looking ahead two weeks means I’m not living for the moment and all that shit, but check it out. Next weekend CableDad and I are going on the Poker Run!!

What’s the Poker Run, you ask? Ah, a clear demonstration that you a) don’t live in South Florida and b) don’t ride motorcycle. This year marks the 35th year that this event has been going on and this year CableDad and I are going.

Picture this: about 10,000 Harley riders caravaning down US1 to Key West, enjoying the beautiful September weather and ocean breeze crossing the many bridges on the way down. (I promise I will take many many photos, but for the time being click here to see the 7 mile bridge.) There are 5 stops along the way in which you pick up a playing card. By the end of the trip each rider ends up with 5 cards, or a poker hand. The best hand wins. Actually the best 10 hands win a chance to play Texas Hold ‘Em for a Sportster 1200.

I’ve totally got to work on my game this week. πŸ™‚

How is all of this possible with a soon-to-be 10 month old? Here’s the cool part: my mother and step-father are taking MJ for the weekend. Here’s the cooler part: my mother’s sister (which makes her my aunt, but she’s always said that mystically I’m her child) and her boyfriend are flying down from Milwaukee (Harley hometown) to ride with us. I’m totally psyched.

~ by CableGirl on Tuesday, September 4, 2007.

9 Responses to “Poker Run”

  1. Poker runs are the epitomy of kickass fun! Yes, I use to ride bikes and it was so much fun. Ahhh too bad it was all when I was younger eh? LOL.

    Thanks for visiting my blog and I look forward to reading much much more of yours! πŸ™‚

  2. That sounds like a lot of fun, and I don’t even play poker!

  3. This sounds like a wonderful, adult break. Enjoy!

  4. YES! Miss MJ will entertain us for the weekend.

  5. Don’t tell me you have a Harley… Alan would die of envy! The whole time we were in Spain, that’s all he would talk about. “If we lived here for good, I’d buy a Harley; this is perfect weather for riding a bike!”

    He had numerous bikes in his life but gave up the sport bikes when it became so second-nature that he wasnt paying attention to what he was doing anymore… He’d love to have a nice cruise bike but the weather is Canada is just not good enough…

  6. So much I love about this but the Key West without kid part is my favorite.

  7. Who knew you were such a wild thing? Gambling and bikers. My husband just went to bed and I glanced up at him and wondered why I got married? Yeah. We had along weekend with grumpy, anal, snotty dad.

  8. Just heard about this run on other website but i’ll be landing in KW on the 14th & checking into hotel in marathon @ around 4:30,so what i’m asking is where should i be 2 c this spectacle! is Sat. a better day to c them all ride across the bridge,i’m pumped & camera ready! oh times i need times!!

  9. 4 days and counting.

    Janice – you don’t know the half of it. πŸ˜€

    Mich – I just emailed you with some information.

    SMID – oh yeah, kidless weekend. I hear ya. Trust me, I hear ya. lol

    Alexandra Actually his bike is a sport bike. We’ve rented a Harley for the weekend. He’s planning on buying one in the next few months.

    Jo Oh yeah!

Leave a Reply

 
