Love

It sounds like an over ambitions topic, doesn’t it? Only, I’m not talking about love, I’m talking about Love, the Cirque du Soleil show choreographed to Beatles music.

I’ve been a Beatles fan for as long as I can remember, and I’m sure since before then. I have very distinct memories of playing in the pool, probably around 6 or 7 years old, bouncing on the pool float singing “Ticket to Ride” at top volume. Like most kids I used to love Saturday morning cartoons, but my personal favorite was the Beatles cartoon. A little obscure perhaps, but true nonetheless. I was a devoted member of the Beatles fan club. (I desperately searched for a link to this, but we are talking well over 20 years ago and there certainly wasn’t a website back then. No, I did my idolizing the old fashioned way, via snail mail, which back then was simply called “mail”.) I had a favorite jacket, white satin with a silk screen print of the cover of With the Beatles on the back. I had two favorite t-shirts which I wore at every dress down day at school (yes, in the 7th grade, I had a uniform but on days where the temperature dropped to 50 or below we were allowed to dress down. Not such a big deal until you remember that I went to junior high in Miami and it very rarely gets as cold as 50 degrees down here.) One was a Sgt. Pepper shirt and the other had an iron on image of the cover of Abbey Road (and I would happily recite the hidden symbolism behind the album cover to any hapless person who could be convinced to ask me). This fascination of mine never really dissipated, even in my angst ridden teen years when I listened to very little other than Nine Inch Nails, Alice in Chains and Jane’s Addiction.

I give you all this as background because you need to know this in order to appreciate the magnitude of my excitement when Heather said that she had gotten tickets to see Love while I was visiting her in Vegas. I should also mention that I have seen many a Cirque du Soleil show on TV but never in person (except for that really odd one, Delirium that came to Toronto last year) and had always wanted to. In fact, CableDad and I once discussed spending our honeymoon (which we still haven’t taken) in Vegas just so we could see all the Cirque shows. But I digress…

Saturday night in Vegas. Two girls out on the town. Do you think we went out and partied like crazy women? Yeah, you’d be wrong. No, we did better than that. We went to see Love.

I will admit that I was a little surprised when it first started. For one, I wasn’t expecting that all the music would be original Beatles’ music. Yeah, I know, how stupid am I to not realize that a Beatles show would showcase Beatles music. No, what I mean is that the music wasn’t comprised of reinterpretations. No sell out covers. No sad elevator renditions. In fact, in some cases the versions of songs that they had chosen were ones that one would have to find on studio recordings (of which I have many). Pretty cool I think.

The show was not what I expected. It wasn’t much like the Cirque shows I’ve seen on cable, and thankfully it wasn’t like the one we did see in Toronto. Don’t get me wrong, there was an incredible display of acrobatic ability, but the feel of the show was… different. it was my impression that the intention of the performance was to visualize the emotional responses people would get from individual songs. For example, the set for ‘Eleanor Rigby’ was dressed in the trappings of post-war Britain while songs from Sgt. Pepper looked like a series of acid flashbacks. In fact, on the whole, the impression I got from the show was that someone really paid attention to the Fab Four’s intentions when they attempted to make the film for Magical Mystery Tour. After all, what was Magical Mystery tour if not a group of friends and circus freaks on a trip with funky sets and costumes. This show, however, was much more coherent. I’m hypothesizing that a great deal less acid was involved.

Personally, I loved it. Yes, I loved Love. However, I’m not sure that anyone who was not a Beatles fan would really appreciate it. (Yes, as shocked as I am when it happens, I have met people who do not like or even appreciate the Beatles.) The reason for this assessment is simple: Love has no purpose other than to showcase Beatles music. Yes, the acrobatics are impressive. Yes, the sets are colorful and eye catching, but really none of it would make any sense if it weren’t for an underlying understanding of the music itself.

So, in short, if you like the Beatles and you happen to be in Vegas, GO! If you don’t like the Beatles (curse your soul) go see a different show because you won’t really appreciate this one as it should be.

~ by CableGirl on Tuesday, October 9, 2007.

8 Responses to “Love”

  1. I never had an angst in my teenage years so I was Simon and Garfunkel for me. I do remember listening to the Soundtrack from West Side Story over and over. It is only now that I realize how geeky I must have been.
    Last time in Vegas we saw Le Reve at the Wynn. It was a poor mans “O.”

  2. That sounds so fun! I love it when the Beatles show up in contemporary pieces – like “Across the Universe” which I am currently in love with…

    Sorry you missed the giveaway, but it was great to see you at the blog anyway. 🙂

    catherine

  3. Great post, I came for WW but got sucked in to this post. I did a post on the Beatles this week as well! Anyway, I’ve not seen the Cirque de Soleil show, but the album “Love” is absolutely incredible. If you’ve not gotten it, pick it up as it will probably remind you of the live show forever. It’s also their best “greatest hits” album yet.

    Nice WW photo as well.

  4. Last Christmas the “soundtrack” for the show was released on CD, I have it and it’s really fabulous, the show really was made for the serious Beatles fan.

    Do a little websearching and you’ll find a crap load of info about the show and how much work went into it. It’s absolutely amazing.

  5. I wanna GO! I love Cirque du Soleil, and I love the Beatles.

  6. What a great write-up! Nice to know about this little Beatles thing you’ve got going on….

  7. My DH and I are dying to see this! I’m glad you enjoyed it;-)

  8. I too grew up on a steady diet of The Beatles and John Lennon. My dad is maybe one of the all time biggest fans of the band. My teenage years did lead me into the Public Enemies and NWA’s and other garbage I am afraid to mention, but I now have returned to my roots as I love the singer song writers and appreciate a good ballad.

    CG, sounds like a great night out! Good for you. Talk to you later!

Leave a Reply

 
