kicking ass and dropping names (and links)

Warning: This post contains many links to Wikipedia for definitions of various terms.

Over the weekend I was talking with some friends on Cre8Buzz and one of them, who shall remain nameless even as I post this link to her blog, had the gall to chastise me for not posting about my Kung Fu adventures on my blog. (Admittedly, I use the terms “had the gall” and “chastise” very lightly here.) Actually what happened was this: Nen asked how the big Kung Fu studio grand opening went on Saturday and Candace, ok, not so nameless after all, said that she was behind on her blog reading. When I told her that I hadn’t blogged about it, she asked why not followed by a series of exclamation points. So… point taken. Here we go. I’ve alluded to this in the past, but never posted about it.

For a number of years now I’ve been involved with kickboxing. Not the kind of kickboxing you find in regular gyms. I refer to those kinds of classes as random flailing to music. There is no art or concentration involved with those kinds of classes. The kind of kickboxing I mean is a martial art. It’s called Muay Thai and is actually used quite profusely in MMA (Mixed Martial Arts) tournaments, like the Ultimate Fighting Championship. When I was living in Toronto I was training with a guy who specialized in Muay Thai. Before that, when I was living in Ireland, I was practicing with the university Lau Gar kickboxing team. I have always really enjoyed the sport. It’s a great way to get exercise (both aerobic and anaerobic) as well as a great way to relieve ad release stress. So, naturally, when we moved back to Miami, I started looking for a new studio.

I found one when MJ was 4 1/2 months old and I started taking classes. It wasn’t long before the master of the studio decided he wanted me to try Kung Fu instead of kickboxing. He said he thought that it would suit me better and that I might find it more of a challenge. Not that kickboxing isn’t a great challenge, but the people who were frequenting that particular class in the studio were more interested in exercising, losing weight and toning than in fighting. I agreed and I have been in love with Kung Fu ever since.

A few months back I was talking to Sifu about my plan to get certified as a personal trainer. When he heard me express this desire he said that he would train me to be an instructor in his studio. I was astounded…. and thrilled.

Let me just say this up front: I love the studio. The people are incredible. They are warm, friendly and accepting. It is the sort of place that I like to go spend time even when I’m not in a class. They love MJ and love to have me bring her when I go in. Does it really get better than that?

So for the past few months in addition to working on my own progress in Kung Fu I’ve been learning how to teach the fundamentals for a basic class.  I go to at least three classes a week and before each one of the classes I attend is a beginner class.  The instructor for that class has been having me co-teach it with her so that I get the practice I need before I get my own class.  I need to advance one more belt before I’ll be ready to teach.

So, having said all that as background, this past Saturday was the studio’s grand opening.  It was an absolute blast.  There were demonstrations of various skills and trial classes open to the public.  Best of all two of the instructors performed a lion dance  while one of Sifu’s friends played the drum.  It was a great sight and apparently they will be doing it again in a Chinese New Year‘s street festival.  I had a great time.  Not only was it fun to watch the various demos but it felt great to be part of the studio “family”, and that’s really what they are like over there, which is why I’m so attached to the place.

Now that the cork has been popped I’m sure I’ll be blogging about my King Fu adventures and my progress with becoming an instructor more.  I’m not sure why I’ve been so reticent about it in the past.

~ by CableGirl on Tuesday, October 23, 2007.

13 Responses to “kicking ass and dropping names (and links)”

  1. Sounds fantastic. I had a taster of Kung-Fu in China. I went on a cultural exchange trip with a tai chi group to China in 2005. We went to Shaolin Temple and to a Kung-Fu training school where we had a couple of lessons and we were able to watch a demonstration which was most impressive.

    Good luck in your adventure.

  2. oh thats brilliant..
    looking forward to experiencing kung fu through your posts 🙂

  3. Wow! That’s amazing. Kung Fu?? I’m impressed, and can’t wait to hear more about this. And I think I will have the ‘kung fu’ fighting song in my head all day now. Le sigh.

  4. Very cool! You’re a big ole surprise every time I read you.

  5. This reminds Bossy of her obsession, except her’s is with napping. She is a master, though.

  6. I can’t wait to hear more about this! It’s great that your sifu is talking such an interest in your pregression! Would love to hear more about this.

  7. After reading this, I understand why you were hesitant to post (says the gal who tied you down and forced you to blog about it). Seriously, it seems so sacred and spiritual. Like an oasis. I’m completely impressed and inspired. I want to find a place like that. It’s like you found something so strong within yourself and an actual environment and teacher who supports and nurtures that. And on top of that, what an example for MJ. How great that she is such a part of it.
    now you have to keep us posted!!!!!!!!!!!! BUSTED!

  8. When I move back to Miami I’m taking class with you!

  9. Ohhh… I’ve always wanted to learn a martial art! Maybe this is the inspiration I need — keep talking about it!!

  10. I have a friend that’s really into Muay Thai, I believe he’s even got a tattoo. I hadn’t heard of it until he started talking about it. It sounds interesting, though, I’ve never really been interested in the martial arts.

    By the way, if you have a spare moment, do you mind checking out my blog.

  11. kung fu sounds totally cool. tell us more. before i had m1, i earned a white belt in jujitsu – really it means i can tell when *other* people are using it. . .

  12. We’ve confirmed it. You can definitely kick my ass.

  13. This is wonderful. Congratulations! Also, you got to live in Toronto AND Ireland?? I’m SO jealous! 😉

Leave a Reply

 
