Happy Chanukah (now with new picture)

Tonight is the first night of Chanukah, so here’s a little holiday cheer for my Jewish friends.

~ by CableGirl on Tuesday, December 4, 2007.

8 Responses to “Happy Chanukah (now with new picture)”

  1. Would it be terribly wrong of me to point out that this has the wrong number of branches? Or is it the pre-Hannukah story version where there are only supposed to be seven?

  2. Hah! Yes, I noticed that but for some reason all of the images I found only had seven branches. Is there anyone out there who can explain to me why?

  3. I’m pretty sure the menorah is only supposed to have 7 branches, but I don’t know why…

  4. The menorah has 8 branches and a shamash – the “helper” candle (servant in synagogues) to light the candles of the 8 nights. The 7 branch menorah is a Shabbat (sabbath) menorah. Menorah is a branched candle holder – Chanukiah is the name of the Hanukkah menorah, but almost no one uses that term. The seven branch menorah is a symbol for Judaism in general for the mitzvah (commandment) to keep Shabbat.

    Probably more info than you wanted! 😉

    We celebrated tonight by taking our guinea pigs to the vet. ;-( Thanks for the greetings, though, CG!

  5. I thought the same thing about the number of candles. I guess virtual candles don’t need a “helper” or shamash?

  6. ok, so I finally found a better menorah image. Apologies to anyone the improper one offended.

  7. awww, I wasn’t offended, just curious. I’m glad someone gave a well-worded explanation because mine would not have been as coherent. And thank you for the greetings of course. Happy Holiday season to you and yours!

  8. No offense at all! It’s so sweet of you to post and to care. 😉 I just had to go into the explanation because of my days teaching religious school, lol.

Leave a Reply

 
