Santaphobia

When I was a child I used to have a completely rational fear of Santa. I say it is completely rational because if you stop to think about it, the whole idea of Santa is rather creepy. Thinking about a big, fat, bearded man in a red suit whom I’ve never met before breaking into my house in the middle of the night and sneaking around gave me the heeby jeebies, I didn’t care what sorts of things he left behind. The day my brother broke the news to me that Santa wasn’t real I think I was a little relieved. Apparently my fear of Santa was a trait with me from the very start. While there are numerous pictures of my older brother happily sitting on Santa’s lap the only pictures of me with the fat man show me either screaming in fear or crying, or both. MJ takes after me with no doubt.

Yesterday the Gymboree nearest us had a “Santa Party” at which parents of young children could bring their babes to visit Santa in a quiet, private and peaceful environment with the hopes that the lack of crowds and noise might make the experience a little less traumatic. CableDad said I was mean to do it. I thought it might be nice to have some holiday photos. I should have known.

MJ was perfectly happy to play with the Christmas bells while Santa wandered around the room saying hi to children, but she was pretty careful to ignore him.

However, when we went into the room for photos she was unconvinced. In fact, she clung to my leg and stared up at him in abject terror. I don’t know if it was her innate fear of facial hair (also something she inherited from me) or a newly developed dislike of strangers.

But in the end we got her to sit on Santa’s lap. Well, sort of. Daddy sat on Santa’s lap (yes, I’m serious and yes, this was Santa’s suggestion) and MJ sat on Daddy.

So, with no further ado, here is MJ’s first holiday photo; sitting on Santa’s lap and taking after her Mamma.

 

That’s my girl!

~ by CableGirl on Monday, December 10, 2007.

10 Responses to “Santaphobia”

  1. oh no what a sad face – the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree-

  2. I totally shared this. Those fake beards scared the bejeezus out of me! Poor MJ

  3. Our MJ is very intuitive! Who would want to sit on a portly, unshaved man’s lap? He,he,he….I would!

  4. Cablegirl, I have to admit you have a wonderful knack of telling photo stories, my browser window was small, so I didnt get to see all photos at once, I really didnt expect a sad MJ at the end of the post đŸ™‚

  5. omg, I was totally afraid of Santa TOO!!!! My mom said that I was totally NOT having the sit-on-strange-guy’s-lap-at-the-mall thing, and that I never really liked the idea of him sneaking around our house in the middle of the night. Therefore, there are very very few pictures of me with Santa, and in the few that there are I look VERY unhappy. lol Good job MJ!!!

  6. That is the most adorable look of betrayal I have ever seen!

  7. I mean why not fear him…the smell of mints, the big boots, and the unshaven grunge look don’t exactly exude feelings of confidence. Why all the mints anyways? Sounds like a cover up. I love the cryin santa pics. Each one of our girls have one.

  8. Oh, ho, ho,ho!
    I hope she’s not traumatized by either the visit or the fact that I am just chortling over that photo!
    Mwah MJ!

  9. Oh that is so cute. Miss M is also a bit scared of the hairy bearded one. We have yet to do this years pic, but on the last two, she is trying to escape. Hee hee.

  10. love it! that should be your christmas card! every year!

Leave a Reply

 
