One of those days…

I’ve been contemplating slitting my wrists this morning.  Ok,  not seriously, but it has sounded like a rather pleasant alternative to the 13 month old teething troll who is living in my house presently.

Let me back up.

We had a lovely Christmas.  MJ was thrilled with all of the attention.  She literally basked in it.  My girl loves a crowd and she had dozens of people fawning over her at the Christmas Eve party and just as many on Christmas morning when everyone applauded her for ripping paper into tiny bits, something which Mamma has been dissuading her from doing in a feeble attempt to save some of her more treasured books.

And then came the day after.  No one was around, even Daddy is back at work and MJ is incredibly irate with Mamma for being just one person and not much of an audience at all.  Yesterday nap-strike ensued again.  Today tears are the answer to everything.  Mamma needs her keys to start the car?  Simple solution, scream like a banshee and cry.  Mamma wants MJ to eat her favorite food?  Scream like a banshee and cry.  Mamma wants MJ to stop rolling over so she can change a diaper?  Scream like a banshee and throw a toy at Mamma.  Mamma wants MJ to take a nap?  I give you one guess what her reaction is.

In fairness to her she is getting two molars and two canine teeth in at once.  Of course, this has been a fact of life for about 3 weeks now.  The screaming is new.  I’m hoping with every ounce of my breath that this new screaming kick is the result of Christmas DTs and not a sign of the coming toddler months.   Of course I expect tempter tantrums from my daughter, hell I’m the queen of pitching fits, but not yet.  Please, not yet.

~ by CableGirl on Friday, December 28, 2007.

11 Responses to “One of those days…”

  1. I’ll hope it’s just Christmas DTs too – Punkin is being the exact same way.

  2. Oh, HUGE hugs on this… that’s a hard road to travel. Have you tried orajel? That worked wonders on C…

  3. That sounds AWESOME. not. lol

  4. we never had teething screaming serials, but we do have tantrums. oh god, roll on by, twos! be more like the eight year old! now!

  5. I hope you’re having a better day today! 🙂

  6. So do I write that screeming continues until at least age 7? No. O.k. I won’t.

    “MAMAWHATDOYOUMEANIHAVETOFINISHMYDINNER!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?THAT’SSONOTFAIR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

  7. Hmmm…I think I have to go with SMID although I can only speak for up to age 4. Both of my kids have been really off the last few days. I hope you have a better day!

  8. Good that MJ is liking people around.. not many kids like it..
    Merry Christmas, and wonderful new year to MJ and you..

  9. it will pass! but then something else really frustrating will take it’s place!
    happy new year to you and to “little fangs”!! hope she’s feeling better…….

  10. Ugh. Bossy always hates the return to routine. Hopeless routine.

  11. Maybe you should have asked Santa for a good pair of earplugs. 😉

    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

 
