Music Monday – War Pigs

Last week I mentioned a battle I had with my mother when I was younger about my right to listen to Ozzy Osbourne. She pointed out in her comment that parents have the right to choose what their children are allowed to listen to. While this might be true it illustrates the point I’d like to make. Frequently music is misunderstood, most often when a performer’s appearance doesn’t comply with socially accepted norms. Ozzy Osbourne was certainly just such a performer (he’s certainly mellowed a lot in his old age). However, if one should bother to listen to some of the lyrics of both Ozzy’s solo and Black Sabbath’s songs opinions might just change. Just like you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover you shouldn’t judge a musician by his stage make-up. (Ok, perhaps excluding Gene Simmons.)

With that thought in mind, for this Music Monday I present you with both the lyrics of Black Sabbath’s “War Pigs” and a great video montage put together by a fan. Listen, read, watch and think about whether the popular conception of some of this “evil” music is really quite correct.

“War Pigs”

Generals gathered in their masses
Just like witches at black masses
Evil minds that plot destruction
Sorcerers of deaths construction
In the fields the bodies burning
As the war machine keeps turning
Death and hatred to mankind
Poisoning their brainwashed minds, oh lord yeah!

Politicians hide themselves away
They only started the war
Why should they go out to fight?
They leave that role to the poor

Time will tell on their power minds
Making war just for fun
Treating people just like pawns in chess
Wait till their judgment day comes, yeah!

Now in darkness, world stops turning
As the war machine keeps burning
No more war pigs of the power
Hand of God has struck the hour
Day of judgment, God is calling
On their knees, the war pigs crawling
Begging mercy for their sins
Satan, laughing, spreads his wings
All right now!

To my mind this is one of the most potent and truthful anti-war songs ever written. My mother’s Ozzy-phobia, inspired by this particular album cover , was surely unfounded. Of course, her hatred of Johnny Rotten and the Sex Pistols might have been more legitimized. But, for my money, there is just no beating the Sid Vicious cover of Frank Sinatra’s “My Way”, but that’s a post for a different Music Monday.

~ by CableGirl on Monday, January 14, 2008.

9 Responses to “Music Monday – War Pigs”

  1. My mom was the same way, it seemed that whenever I’d buy a new album she’d insist on looking at it or listening to it…she’s very conservative so it just got to the point that almost all of my albums were copies that my friends made me or stuff that she couldn’t really object to. What really baffled me was that she was fine with me listening to Nirvana…led by a heroine addict who shot his brain out then listen to a group of boys not much older than myself.

    I’m not a huge Ozzy/Black Sabbath fan, but I do think that song…and the whole album its from is one of the best rock albums I have ever listened to.

  2. Heh, I remember having to hide a borrowed Green Day cassette tape (Dookie) when I was 12 so that my parents wouldn’t see I had it, and also being thwarted when I was ten and wanted to get the latest Red Hot Chili Peppers album (Blood, Sugar, Sex Magic).

  3. Wow, another reason Music Monday is SO cool. I never listened to Black Sabbath, mostly because I was less into “hard rock” and also because I only thought of the bat eating incident. But this is an AMAZING song and great video. I’m really going to have to listen to more of their stuff. Any suggestions?

  4. I’m not familiar with this song, but sound nice to me… 😉
    I’m glad my Mom was a bit liberal with me when it comes to music…

    Happy Music Monday, my entry is now up!

  5. Really brilliant. You are right, highly potent.
    I can’t say that I have ever been much of a fan of Mr. Osbourne (I was really so much more into hippy soulful music when I was growning up–I kinda steered clear of hard rock) but this is a good one to represent with. It’s a message strong and clear.
    Cool.

  6. Dear 42 friends,
    Mom may have been too quick to judge Cablegirl’s music choices, I agree. However, I don’t seem to remember her offering the lyrics for increasing my “awareness” *hehe*. BTW, Mom and Auntie M fought with Cablegirl’s grandfather about ending the “war” in Vietnam! We’ll see what MJ offers her parents.

  7. Music Mondays are awesome I agree. Although this post does date you at about 3-5 years my senior. LOL.

  8. This is totally off topic but I wanted to say hi. I can’t keep up with your blogging vigor.

    My mother rotated between indifferent, amused and interested in what I listened to in high school. I think she quite liked the Violent Femmes.

  9. Love it. Have you heard Cake’s cover of War Pigs? It’s awesome, in a geeky, Cake kind of way.

Leave a Reply

 
