Music Monday – Cookie Jar

I have rather eclectic tastes. I admit that. My music tastes are especially diverse. For the past two weeks I’ve tried to show that some of the “heavier” music out there can still have an important message and that artists, like all people, shouldn’t be judged lightly by their appearances.

This week I’m taking a step back and I’m showing a bit more of my mellow side. I want to talk to you about Jack Johnson. Johnson, a native of Hawaii and a dedicated surfer, is what I would call a folk singer. Perhaps that’s not the right term, but his music is nearly always miked acoustic guitar backed by his voice, more often than not conveying a serious or heavy issue. He is one of the co-founders of Kokua Hawaii Foundation (seriously, check out the link) which is a non-profit organization dedicated to environmental issues and environmental education. That alone would make him one of my favorite people since he is so closely involved with an issue of the most importance to me. However, he doesn’t stop there. Johnson wrote the soundtrack to the recent movie release of the children’s classic Curious George. Most of the songs, while highly enjoyable on a musical level, focus on issues for the next generation. There is “The Sharing Song”, obviously teaching children the importance of sharing, “The Three R’s”, which as we all know are reduce, reuse and recycle and “Upside Down” which teaches that looking at things from different angles can help a person realize that what previous had seemed difficult or even impossible is really well within reach.

Johnson also has a knack for attacking things about which people can become complacent. The song below is called “Cookie Jar” and it is about the devolution of personal accountability. Pass the buck, pass the blame, but whatever you do, don’t point at me.

However, I couldn’t choose just one Jack Johnson song to share with you today so here is my all time favorite of his tunes, “Good People”, which is a chastisement of a culture brainwashed by TV and the media.

“Good People”

You win
It’s your show, now
So what’s it gonna be
‘Cause people
Will tune in
How many train wrecks do we need to see?
Before we lose touch of
We thought this was low
It’s bad getting worse so

[Chorus:]
Where’d all the good people go?
I’ve been changing channels
I don’t see them on the TV shows
Where’d all the good people go?
We got heaps and heaps of what we sow

They got this and that and
With a rattle a tat
Testing one two,
Now what you gonna do?
Bad news, misused,
Got too much to lose
Gimme some truth
Now whose side are we on?
Whatever you say
Turn on the boob tube
I’m in the mood to obey
So lead me astray by the way, now

Where’d all the good people go?
I’ve been changing channels
I don’t see them on the TV shows
Where’d all the good people go?
We got heaps and heaps of what we sow

Sitting round feeling far away
So far away but I can feel the debris
Can you feel it?
You interrupt me from a friendly conversation
To tell me how great its all gonna be
You might notice some hesitation
‘Cause it’s important to you, it’s not important to me
Way down by the edge of your reasons
It’s beginning to show
And all I really wanna know is…

Where’d all the good people go?
I’ve been changing channels
I don’t see them on the TV shows
Where’d all the good people go?
We got heaps and heaps of what we sow

They got this and that
With a rattle a tat
Testing one, two
Now what you gonna do?
Bad news, misused, give me some truth
You got too much to lose
Whose side are we on today, anyway?
OK, whatever you say.
Wrong and resolute but in the mood to obey
Station to station desensitizing the nation
Going, going, gone.

Since the first video included the lyrics, I did not add them, but if anyone is interested, let me know and I’ll post them up in the comments.

In addition to my own Music Monday post this month, I’d like to direct some traffic to a post on another site. Hilary at Mom’s Tinfoil Hat, one of my oldest and dearest friends, practically a sister to me, doesn’t participate in Music Monday, but when I saw this on her site Saturday, I knew I had to share it. She’s a brilliant and very politically minded blogger. Seriously, go give her a look and listen to MY submission for HER for Music Monday.

Visit Soccer Mom in Denial for other Music Monday participants.

~ by CableGirl on Monday, January 28, 2008.

7 Responses to “Music Monday – Cookie Jar”

  1. Awwww, thanks! Yeah, I read your posts, but I don’t have time to get my shit together on the right day. Oh, and I am a big jack Johnson fan, and so are my kids.

    I added one more protest song to my site, so I guess I have two Music Monday posts.

  2. I’ll have to watch at home. But he sounds terrific. I’m a big fan of Dr. John’s Curious George theme song for the television show.

    And I linked to Hilary even though I’m jumping up and down to get people to link back to me. Cause you ALWAYS link back to me and I like you so I’ll give her and Pink a little linky love.

  3. I love, love, love Jack Johnson, and so does my DH. This is a wonderful post, CG. And it’s interesting, because the subjects of the two songs are something that C and I have been discussing on and off all weekend. He’s realizing that his values don’t match the values of a lot of his friends at school and certainly not those of what he sees on TV. I’ve had a lot of “stay strong” talks with him this weekend.

  4. Love it! I have to check on his other songs! Happy MM!

  5. I. LOVE. JACK. JOHNSON.

    This is a great post!
    ~jenn

  6. I enjoy Jack too! I’ve started bring the Curious George CD with me when I’m subbing- it’s shocking how many of the kids know all the words to his songs. And the best part? There’s no better feeling than looking up and seeing 17 grade 2 kids all working and singing along to the song on the CD. It makes my day. Thanks for sharing this Paige.

  7. Thanks for the introduction to his music–nope, I’ve not heard it before. I guess I need to get my grandkids over more often and hear what they’re listening to. I’m going to check out more of his songs–very timely.

Leave a Reply

 
