Random Ramblings

Usually I try to keep my posts centered on a particular topic or theme. Not so today. Today will be full of randomness.

So, in no particular order.

1) I just recently found a new blog to read (new to me, not to say that the blog is new). It’s called The Inflatable Soapbox. I stumbled across Tim on Cre8Buzz and man, am I thankful I did. He’s an anti-Microsoft revolutionary and dedicated open source guy. Gotta love it. If my time with CableDad has taught me anything it’s that Microsoft is the Evil Empire and Linux is the only way to go. And if that weren’t enough he’s been emailing with me in an attempt to help me fix my computer issues. Well, this super cool Tim has awarded me an ‘E’ for excellence. I’m honored.

Now I get to choose 10 people to whom I can pass this along.
and I want to give it right back to Tim at Inflatable Soapbox. Don’t you just LOVE the blog title?
2) Have you ever visited Jen of A2EatWrite? If you haven’t, you must. Not only is she one of my favorite bloggers with whom I just adore talking on IM, but she’s recently gotten involved with a project called What’s Cooking Wednesday. I LOVE to cook and she comes up with some really tasty stuff. Well, today she has a recipe up for a chocolate custard. mmmm. It’s a little Valentine’s Day present for CableDad.
Yeah, usually I hate Valentine’s Day. It just seems like a waste of a holiday to me. But, whatever. CableDad has been working ridiculous hours recently so I thought he needed a little pick me up.
Anyway, the custard is chilling in my fridge this minute. I know, you’re wondering how I can possibly tell you that it is good if it’s still in the fridge an I haven’t eater it. Yeah, well, I haven’t eaten the chilled version. That certainly does not mean I didn’t lick the bowl. lol
Seriously. If you like chocolate, you’ll love this!
3) MJ has decided that dancing to The Beatles in the living room is A LOT of fun. She spent most of this morning (while I was making chocolate custard) dancing to first Abbey Road and then Revolver. Good girl!
4) If you care about such things, Happy Valentine’s Day.
5) Tomorrow is Friday. It is a FlashBack Friday like all others. I’ve been having a blast putting up flashback posts and I love the comments people have been leaving. Thank you for that. And a big thank you to Jen, Thalia’s Child and LilacSpecs for playing along both times so far. If you haven’t gotten involved yet, consider it. I’m sure you’ve got some good stories you’re just dying to share. I’m sure you’ve got some I’m dying to read. Next week I’m planning flashing back with photos, tomorrow is a tale of European travel. Play along. My post will be up at midnight tonight with a Mr. Linky just waiting for you to join in.

6) So what’s the deal with jumping the gun on weekly posts? Tuesday night I was floating around the blog-o-sphere and I noticed 5 or 6 people already had wordless WEDNESDAY posts up. Now, one or two of those I didn’t think much about since I know the bloggers are in Europe and therefore at least 6 hours ahead of me. But seriously? What’s everyone else’s excuse? I even went to the Wordless Wednesday website and noticed that there is now a Tuesday edition. Yeah, sorry. Am I missing something? How does a Tuesday edition of a wordless Wednesday make sense? I had noticed the same thing on Monday night when I saw people had already posted Heads or Tails items. (If you don’t know already, Heads or Tails is the brainchild of Skittles and is a Tuesday meme.) Yeah, I just don’t get that.

And lastly: Sorry about the shitty formatting of this post but I’m having issues with my machine and until I figure it out with either Tim or CableDad’s help, I’ll be suffering.

~ by CableGirl on Thursday, February 14, 2008.

13 Responses to “Random Ramblings”

  1. The Tuesday doesn’t make a lot of sense to me. My theory was going to originally be that they wrote the posts ahead of time and forget to change the time and date when they published. I do that every once in a while over at New England Mamas. So can a flashback Friday be from something that happened today?

  2. Congrats on the award…Tim’s the bomb! I feel the same way about Valentine’s Day. My Facebook avatar says, “If you see Cupid, bitch slap the little punk for me, will ya?”

    Have a good one.

  3. Ohhhh linky love. You rock.

    I’m very excited to try the chocolate custard, but it needs to wait until Beaker gets back into town so someone other than me will eat it all.

    And in the spirit of randomness, I always jump the gun with Soap Opera Sunday because I suck.

  4. Woo hoo! Thanks!

  5. You crazy CableGirl! I love the Buzz and all the cool people here. And you are one of the coolest!

  6. Thanks so much for the award and even more for the kind words! I hope the custard was even better cold! Huge hugs – I’m just now getting on to read blogs… lonnnnngggggg day!

  7. Ohh I love posts that link to new bloggers- I’m always looking for new reads, especially ones that come on a recommendation from a great blogger. I can’t wait to check them out. Also, anyone who knows how to make chocolate custard is good in my books.

  8. I saw that custard recipe and it looks awesome. Also, thanks for the award! Yay for linkage and blingage! I noticed that pre-posting on theme days and don’t be fooled, some European bloggers are guilty of it too. I dunno what’s up with it but I think it’s cheating…ooooh, I’m gonna te-ell.

    Oh and finally- baby dancing to the Beatles? You have the coolest baby ever!

  9. Congrats on the award!

    Happy Blog Hoppin’!

    “Margarita Mom”

  10. OOH! Thank you CableG! First blog I hop tonight and I stumble across an award. I’ve got a fridge full of Newcastle too. It’s gonna be a great night!

  11. Ask CableDad if he’ll murder me for using Ubuntu?

  12. Congrats on the award! Very jealous. No really, I want one! 😉

    -Virtual Varmint, blog hoppin’

  13. You are sweet but have clearly lost your mind.

    Plus, I have become resigned to MS since they pay our mortgage.

Leave a Reply

 
