Strange things are afoot at 42

Well, the time has come to talk of other things, of shoes and ships and ceiling wax, and cabbages and kings.

Ok, not really, and yes, I realize that it’s bad form to reference two so drastically different works in the same breath. So sue me. No, don’t. But if you do know what I’m talking about, tell me. Prizes to anyone who does.

The time *has* come, however, to talk about the fate of 42. For a long time now I’ve been intending to move my blog. CableDad has been promising for ages that he will set up a server at home and register a domain for me so I can run a fully installed WordPress instead of being bound by the limitations of wordpress.com. Don’t get me wrong, wordpress.com has done me well, but there are a few things I find quite limiting. I won’t go into those now, but if anyone wants to to let loose with that rant, I won’t hold back.

This weekend CableDad ordered the server equipment and the ULTRA COOL Tim of Inflatable Soapbox offered to create a blog template just for little’ole me, conforming exactly with my specifications. (Poor man obviously has no idea yet just how demanding and annoying I can be. Tim, if you’re reading this I can send you some email address of old friends who can clarify that point for you. 😉 )

But there’s a catch. (Isn’t there always a catch?) When CableDad set out to register my domain name, we were both quite hopeful that some variation on 42 would be possible. I mean, sure, there are plenty of Douglas Adams freaks out there in the world (raise your hand if you’re one) but could they really have taken every adaptation? I fully expected 42.com to be gone. I was not in the least surprised when fortytwo.com (mind you, I’m saying dot com, but in reality I also mean dot org, dot net, dot us, etc.), however, when forty-two, twoandforty, 40-2 and every other variant I could come up with were all claimed, I was, yes, I admit it, despondent. My melancholy morphed into disgust and anger when I realized that none of these sites actually existed. No, they were just registered in case some poor sodding blogger might possibly want them. I looked into it a bit further and noticed that They were charging astronomically high rates to buy back these domains. Wanna take a guess? I scoff at it. Try $1800. Seriously? What insane fucker actually spends $1800 on a domain name?

It was at this point that CableDad suggested I register as domainsquatterssuckmyass.com. It has a ring to it, don’t you think?

In the end CableDad ended up picking the domain name, mostly because I was too frustrated to continue with the process, but also because since it is *his* server he says *he* should be able to choose. Bah! Like rational thought has anything to do with this.

I know, I know, you want me to tell you what the new address of 42 will be. Keep your shorts on, I’m getting there.

I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned this before, but CableDad is a Big Geek. I say this will all love, of course. In fact, he would be the first one to describe himself in such terms. I’ll be honest, in addition to my insatiable attraction to shaved heads and tattoos, I just LOVE a geek. The bigger, the better. Yeah, I’m odd like that.

So, the server arrived yesterday and the domain name is registered. I’ll be talking to Tim and CableDad both about rerouting any traffic from this address to my new one, but I wanted to give everyone the heads up. If all goes according to plan (read: if CableDad actually gets the day off on Sunday) the server should be up and running by Monday. It will probably take Tim a bit longer than that to get my template sorted out, but the big move will certainly be happening soon.

Don’t worry. I’ll let you know before it does in hopes that all my bloggy friends will update their blogrolls for me. I’m paranoid like that.

I’m a little distressed at the notion that I will lose a good bit of traffic due to the move. That is bound to happen. It always does. I’m a little concerned that the domain name CableDad has selected is a bit too geeky and obscure for most people to recall easily. But mostly I’m excited to take off my training wheels and set out on my own like a big girl blogger. (Yeah, I don’t know what that means either)

So, the information you’ve all been waiting for: The domain name CableDad chose was gibkeeg.com

Scratching your head over that one? Reverse the letters. I told you he was a big geek.

~ by CableGirl on Thursday, February 21, 2008.

14 Responses to “Strange things are afoot at 42”

  1. I love the domain name. TOO funny! And I can’t wait to see the new blog. This is very exciting stuff!

  2. Well, you’re talking about The Walrus and The Carpenter from Alice in Wonderland by the ever so clever Lewis Carrol, a.k.a. Charles Lutwidge Dodgson, whom I ♥.

    And yay for your own server! And for big geeks to help run them. I have my own model at home and he works very well.

    If Tim wants to shoot some advice my way and reads your comments section: Hi Tim! You could be my new hero!

    And I’ll be watching for the move. No loss of follower here.

  3. Lilacspecs – you got one of the references. How abotu the other. It’s not nearly as literary. lol

  4. strange things are afoot at the circle k? bill & ted’s excellent adventure.

  5. Hehe, good luck with “the move”…too bad about the problems with finding an address, but I think CableDad did pretty good with picking something (nice and easy to remember).

    Perhaps one day I’ll find the motivation to build my own blog and learn all the bells and whistles that go along with it. For now though, I will deal with the frustrations of WordPress.com.

  6. Hahahaha! And you? You are a big geek lover.
    Good luck with the move and all it entails… it all sounds very exciting to me.
    Of course, you forgot to toss in the dutch word for 42 (tweeenviertig) Maybe that might have worked? But truly the brilliance of domainsquatterskissmyass is just divine! You are so funny.

  7. domain squatters totally suck. I imagine ‘thnx4allthefish.com’ was gone too?

  8. i am brand new to your blog and you move already… I have to say I like this, a lot. You are a great writer, (which you likely know) and I have enjoyed spending a chunk of my morning here…

    I love the big geek backwards but I kind of liked the other option too. It was, well, edgier. 🙂

  9. CableGirl, I love your blog! It’s my pleasure to be able to help. I think your PDC (Pretty Damn Cool, not Primary Domain Controller). I don’t know CableDad, but as a Linux Geek (Debian Rawks!) he’s PDC, too.

    @Lilacspecs: I’d love to be your new hero. 😉 Just let me know what you need.

  10. That’s so exciting! I like the original domain name suggested! I’ve seen a couple people like Midwestern Mommy and Playgroups are No Place for Children who leave up an “I’ve moved to this location” notice on their old blog.
    I definitely will be updating your new blog url.

  11. I like the name, too. Funny.

    You didn’t like cablegirl42.com? LOL

    Congrats on the impending move!

  12. Did you try a reversal of 42?

    Good luck with the move. At least you don’t have to pack!!

  13. Domain squatters are horrible. I wonder how long many of them have had those domains and can’t sell them? I won’t lose you in the move, I hope. Can’t wait to see the big girl version of 42. Since I am not a Big Geek, it is very unlikely that I will ever have a big girl blog before I die. Blogger is just as horrible as domain squatters.

  14. Thats hilarious. Seriously though, what moron would spend $1800 on a domain name? Did you try 4-t-2.com? Just a thought. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

 
