My Hero

This dirty little secret was something that I was keeping quiet. Ok, not exactly. I’ve been shoving it in the faces of everyone I know in person, but I’ve been strangely silent about it on my blog. Until I read this post by Misty. She’s encouraged mee to come out of the closet, so to speak.

I love Guitar Hero. No, that’s not quite an accurate description. I am a Guitar Hero addict. In fact, there is nothing I like quite as much at the end of a long day of toddler chasing than turning on my XBox and standing for a few sets. How I love to play War Pigs, or Psychobilly Freakout (who knew that The Reverend Horton Heat was actually main stream now), or John the Fisherman, or even One.

I definitely prefer Guitar Hero 2 over Guitar Hero 3. On this point Misty and I disagree. While I do like the guitar battles against Tom Morello, Slash and Lou (aka the devil), I simply prefer the track lists on Guitar Hero II. I mean, seriously Primus, Allman Brothers, Black Sabbath, Danzig, Butthole Surfers, Iron Maiden, Megadeth… and the aforementioned Reverend Horton Heat. Ahhh. It just doesn’t get better than that.

This is a relatively new addiction. A few months ago my old roommate (oh, for the sake of preventing confusion and not revealing names, let’s call him SoulGlow. You’ll be hearing more about him soon.) came over one Saturday while CableDad was at work and MJ was at my mother’s house. He brought his new addiction and two guitars. About four hours later we had worked our way through a co-op career to Santana. Yeah. That’s right. Santana. Santana is impossible to play (for a beginner) even on easy. (Of course, now I can play it through on medium with little to no trouble) I think we must have been booed off stage at least 5 times before we threw in the towel and moved on to another song.

And the addiction was born.

Black and Magic Woman is on Guitar Hero 3, however. I’m still obsessing over 2. At present Jessica is my favorite song to play. It’s not the hardest and I’m not the biggest Allman Brothers fan, but wow is it just fun. Second to that my favorite is Psychobilly Freakout (The Reverend Horton Heat was a college favorite) and when all else fails The Beast and the Harlot. I didn’t even know what that song was before I started playing Guitar Hero, now I can’t get enough of it.

I’ve gotten all the way through both 2 and 3 on medium and the first two sets of 2 on hard. It may only be a fake guitar, but I rawk!

Hi, my name is CableGirl and I’m an addict.

Anyone else ready to come out of the closet?


~ by CableGirl on Thursday, February 28, 2008.

17 Responses to “My Hero”

  1. I liked Sid Meiers Pirates on my X-Box…I tried guitar hero once on my brother’s X-Box 360 and the pressure of the booing crowd broke me.

  2. I have never played Guitar Hero…I am really tempted to buy the first one, but I’m a bit scared that I’ll be the only one trying to play and I’ll look silly. Besides, if I spend the money on any video game or video game system…it’ll be buying the WII.

    I’ll survive this craze. Somehow.

  3. Alas, I cannot confess since we don’t own this game. What I must confess is that I don’t play video games of any kind. period. Are we still friends?

    I believe however you are in good company being a *ahem* fan of this game. It’s all I ever hear about in the cool kid circles…

  4. Alas, I cannot profess to sharing your obsession. I have been curious about it though. But if we brought it into our house, I’m pretty sure I would never see Beaker on his days off, so…

  5. I just bought Guitar Hero this week! I haven’t busted it out of the box yet, and now I’m a little scared! I kick my kids off the Wii all the time. I’m really mean too. But my favorite game is still Sonic the Hedgehog, I’ll sit for hours and play it!

  6. Okay, so I don’t even have a Wii, and I claim it’s to protect my kids…but really, it’s because I know my addictive personality and would never get anything done if I had something like this in the home!

  7. Nope I’m not one of the cool kids I’m afraid, but I am starting to get a bit jealous…

    Must resist the dark side!

  8. I’m totally green with envy. We dont have one, but you’re not alone in your addiction. I think everyone at hubby’s office is addicted too πŸ™‚

  9. Guitar Hero is what got our family through the holidays! I stink, though.

  10. I love it SO MUCH. I’m getting a Wii JUST for that reason. After that day at your house, I think even my Dad is hooked! LOL!

  11. Since Amazing Guy has a reputation at several karyoke bars in town, I fear getting any Guitar Hero. I think the High School Musical singing game is enough for our house. πŸ™‚

  12. I am going to a Rock Band party/pot luck on Tuesday. I have never played Guitar hero, but I did have a karaoke game for the Playstation 2 that ROCKED.

  13. I am a guitar hero addict, too. I love playing and have my little ones dance around while I play so I can focus on the game. I never really cared for games until we got the Wii, now I am hooked.

  14. Happy Friday! Blog Hoppin’!
    ~”Margarita Mom”

  15. Hey You now there is going to Be a concert in NYC with a SUPERGROUP performance including both SLASH and Tom Morello!!! also Jerry Cantrell, and Wayne Kramer from the band MC5!! how sick is that??!! check out roadrecovery.org they are hosting the show, i think, I found out about it on from a friend of mine whose obbseesed with SLASH and Tom Morello

  16. I wouldn’t say that I’m addicted…but I do enjoy playing it. We have Guitar Hero 3. I love playing Hit Me With Your Best Shot and Painted Black. My son is addicted to it. Not sure if that’s a good thing or not. What do you do?

  17. Just BlogHoppin by, have a great weekend

Leave a Reply

 
