a sad state of affairs

I turned on CNN this morning to catch some weekend news. It’s a sad state of affairs when CNN Headline News has a top story on a Lizard Man in South Carolina. How pathetic. No wonder the rest of the world thinks we’re idiots.

CNN Lizard Man video.

~ by CableGirl on Sunday, March 2, 2008.

12 Responses to “a sad state of affairs”

  1. No news is good news though….

  2. Silver – I get your point, but I have a really hard time believing (as I’m sure you do as well) that there is nothing newsworthy happening in the world today and that the Lizard Man should get top billing as a headline. Seriously? That’s simply pathetic.

  3. Thank God I live in the upstate of SC….bwahahahaha! For the record that was the most fake piece of crap I have ever seen.However we did have a bull attack some lawn furniture and a truck yesterday..Boy howdy now thats some news..LOL!

    Thanks for stopping by!
    Blog Hopping Back’atcha!

  4. Kind of like how everyone could spot a picture of Britney Spears or Paris Hilton but couldn’t spot a picture of anybody actually important? Yeah…I get ya!

  5. We are definitely a scary society these days.

  6. Somebody’s gonna say this, so I figured I’d chime in: that’s just the tip of the iceberg. Sadly.

  7. *snicker*

    I just… *giggle*

    yeah.

    I can see how that is wildly important to the public safety.

    *teehee*

  8. Don’t get too downhearted. Back when CB and I were first starting out Belgium’s national headline one day was the story of an iguana in the Antwerp Aquariam that had priapism. They had to amputate one of his penii but he recovered nicely.

  9. Unfortunately, it’s true of too many Americans that they’d just rather not think about it. In one moms community, where I start a lot of dialogues about the economy, education, etc., I had a mother complaining that my topics were “too depressing.” I’m still trying to decide whether or not to remind her that this is the world our children will inherit. I don’t trust that she’s emotionally stable enough to handle that!

  10. Exactly! It’s really too bad that all of our news is censored, diluted, dumbed down, or just ignored. Instead we get celebrity gossip…

  11. Yep… in our neck of the woods it’s a “skunk ape.” i think it’s supposed to be like a Big Foot type creature… just some boggy redneck running around in the swamps, drunk, no doubt. Maybe CNN is really Crazy News Network.

  12. I saw the Lizard Man story. I’ve seen many strange stories make headlines. It gets real slow this close to a primary date so anything, apparently, will serve as “news.” Only Germany has better tabloids (marketed as real newspapers) than we do.

Leave a Reply

 
