Communication Breakdown

MJ has a book that was given to her by her Aunt Heather. No, Heather isn’t really her aunt, but she might as well be. Anyway, MJ simply adores her Baby Animals book.

But we have one small problem. She wants me to tell her what sounds all of the animals make. Ok, now I’ve got a handle on the pig, duck, cat, dog, lion, etc but my animal mimicry skills break down when she points to a koala and signs for me to make the noise.

So, a call for help to anyone who can.

What does a fox sound like?

how about a penguin?

a kangaroo?

a koala?

a rhino (Sanda Boynton aside)

how about a giraffe?

Sure, I could make them up, but then what kind of pre-homeschooling mother would I be?

~ by CableGirl on Thursday, March 6, 2008.

11 Responses to “Communication Breakdown”

  1. a penguin goes ‘spaaaaalash!’

    a kangaroo goes ‘boing! boing!’

    a rhino goes ‘brooooooooooooooot’ (very much like a cross between a lion and an elephant)

    I dunno about giraffe (we have the same problem) and koala’s are nasty, so maybe you could teach her koala cuss words? And no idea about foxes

  2. I was under the impression that giraffes made no sound at all, but I googled a little and learned this: Calves (baby giraffes) bleat and make a mewing call.
    Cows (female giraffes) seeking lost calves bellow.
    Courting bulls (male giraffes) sometimes let out a loud cough!
    Also, giraffes have been heard snorting, moaning, snoring, hissing, and making strange flutelike sounds!

  3. I can’t really help you out with this one! But let me find my three year old, I’m sure she can, and I’ll get back to you!

  4. I think Koalas don’t make noise unless they’re being threatened…you know, like rabbits. But I’m not sure.

  5. Ok, let me hearken back to last year when I had to do these animals for demanding 2 year olds…
    Foxes yip
    Penguins make a sort of an almost quacking noise but softer
    Rhinos grunt

    I’d say with animals that don’t make sounds, mimic their movements…kids like that too.
    So koalas climb, kangaroos hop and well, apparently giraffes do make sounds, so that’s up to your artistic interpretation I suppose.

  6. quite frankly, both foxes and penguins sound like dying children, especially nerve-wracking when they wake you up in the middle of the night. so, maybe you should make these up for the time being?

  7. everything poops. although this might not be the best response πŸ˜‰

    zoo zoo zoo zoo zoo zoo zoo zoo zoo zoo zoo zoo zoo zoo

  8. giraffes don’t make noise, but maybe they could go, “shhhh”? πŸ˜‰

  9. why of course, a koala says yo baby, waz up?? πŸ˜‰

    ~Senora Patron
    Bloghoppin on a Friday night! πŸ˜‰

  10. Wow… now that is something Ive never thought of… I wouldn’t know how to answer either!

    Maureen
    Blog Hoppin’

  11. You know those moments when someone asks you something and you say “wow, that’s a really good question!”… I just had one.

Leave a Reply

 
