Haiku

So, my plan to read this week instead of blogging has gone down the drain. It’s been a busy week and I’ve found no time for reading. It sucks.

However, here in haiku form is a brief synopsis of how my week has gone thus far:

Frustration runs deep

Toddler meltdown imminent

Oh please, not again.

 

So that’s my first attempt a a haiku. Weak, but topical. 😉

 

I’ll be back tomorrow with my regularly scheduled FlashBack Friday.

 

Edited to add: Anglophile FootBall Fanatic suggested yesterday that I use this post as a Haiku Friday entry.  Thanks for the suggestions AFF. 

~ by CableGirl on Thursday, March 20, 2008.

21 Responses to “Haiku”

  1. Are you planning to leave this up for Haiku Friday?! It fits quite perfectly.

  2. Heh, hitting that fun tantrum stage, eh? I think Benadryl is still a pediatrically approved sedative….muahahaha

  3. hey that was a nice attempt…hows MJ doing..

  4. Best laid plans and all…at least it’s almost time to blog hop!

  5. it moved me. Esp. the last line. I find I say that often… 🙂 Hang in there… What about audio books, through ear buds WHILE the meltdown occurs?

  6. Awww… I would almost welcome a toddler meltdown as opposed to a teenaged one… well, almost. =) Hope the week improves.

  7. Not weak at all! Very good!! Wish I could Haiku!

  8. Yeah I don’t even try the haiku! Sorry MJ is cutting up. Toddler meltdowns make me INSANE!

  9. This haiku fits quite well with my week too. I’ve been ‘force napping’* Punkin just to get away from the whining and tantrums.

    *force napping = putting her to bed, shutting the door and turning the stereo up so I can actually get housework done. She screams for about 5 minutes and then sacks out for a couple hours.

  10. Oh, but sooooooo perfect for moms with children of a certain age, lol. I loved this!

  11. That is not a weak haiku at all. It is telling, personal and very reachable (not the word I want but the best I can come up with).

    And I’ve been missing in action these days because I cannot put down The Post-Birthday Club by Lionel Shriver. It is just too juicy, complicated and well-written for me to describe!

    Glad to know you were trying to read more. You know I think that is wonderful!!

  12. Weak but topical…

    Kinda like my life

    😉

  13. there’s always next week for reading!! and i say if you can’t beat ’em, join ’em. have your own meltdown!!

  14. Not weak at all, a lovely ‘ku, definitely capturing what you are going through right now.

    Hope you get some reading time soon!

  15. That was a great 1st haiku! Well done! Good luck with the meltdowns! 😉

  16. excellent ‘ku. i feel your pain … although our meltdowns are of the teen kind. ugh.

  17. Not weak. Its where you are which is where you should be. That means its perfect.

  18. Great first haiku! Toddler meltdowns are the story of my life!

  19. Great first attempt!

    And sadly, there is always some sort of tantrum to deal with.

    Thanks for stopping by!

  20. I thought it was pretty darn good, perfect, actually, first time or not! Definitely captures a moment (or a whole week, depending).

  21. Not weak, at all, dear.

Leave a Reply

 
