FlashBack Friday – Abbey Road

A few weeks back I mentioned that my college roommate freshman year was a girl named Weenie. Actually, her name was Anne, but for some reason whenever she phoned her mother in London she’d squeal down the phone line, “Hi, Weenie!!!” so, obviously, I started calling her Weenie.

Considering that Weenie was a total prep girl and I was…. not, we got on famously. She let me put my Sid Vicious and Trent Reznor posters up all over the room and was willing to put on head phones to listen to her top ten pop hits CDs. She also took my harassment about her pretty boy, fake tan (you know, the bizarre orange skin bottle job type) boyfriend amazingly well. Anyway, by the end of the first term I think it is fair to say that Weenie and I were actually friends. Polar opposites, but friends. The two of us had also made friends with a bunch of guys who lived down the hall.

Ok, I had made friends with, she had been sleeping with one of them (prior to Orange Boy, that is).

At the start of second term she suggested that we might all want to come visit her in London for Spring Break. Since I had come from Miami I was not at all into the idea of the typical college Daytona, Ft Lauderdale, etc beach spring break trip. London sounded ideal to me.

I know I’ve mentioned my life long obsession with the Beatles at least a few times in the past, so I won’t dwell on it here, but it is a crucial piece of information for the purposes of this post.

When Weenie first suggested we go to London for spring break, one of my first thoughts was, “woohoo! London! Beatles tour!” Of course, my own personal Mecca is Liverpool, but that was a different trip and a story for another time.

So, skipping ahead and leaving out all the fun details about nights out in London pubs, or teasing Weenie with a Ouija board, or shopping for Ox Blood Docs in Camden Lock, this is the visual representation of my trip to Abbey Road.

Let me tell you, it was a thrill for me. Now, of course, they don’t actually let tourists in the recording studios, but I got to hang out in the entrance and drool over album covers and platinum albums. Of course, not all of the albums were Beatles’ but, they were for my eyes.

I did manage to shock my travel mates with my nostalgia and enthusiasm. Oh yeah, and my insistence that they pose for one particular shot.

Are you familiar with the cover art for the Abbey Road album? Well, if you’re not, this is it:

(Click on the picture to enlarge it)
For those of you who don’t know, this album cover has very specific visual symbolism. There are those who say that Paul McCartney actually died in 1966 and was replaced by someone who looked and sounded like him. Silly? Of course. Also not the point. Through out the years there were various “clues” left for fans (and fanatics… and yes, I do distinguish between the two) and this album cover was one of them. From left to right there is John, dressed all in white symbolizing God; Ringo dressed in a somber black suit symbolizing he preacher, Paul in a rumpled suit with no shoes, symbolizing the dead man; and George in jeans and a denim work shirt, symbolizing the grave digger. The license plate on the VW Beetle parked on the left hand side reads, “28 If”, the age Paul would have been had he not “died”. And lastly, if you were to freeze the Fab Four in place but allowed everything else to proceed at a natural pace, the car in the distance would have hit Paul.
Since I had four guys with me on that particular day, I lined them up on the crosswalk and told them to stand still while I took the picture (more easily said than done since, you know, cars like to travel on these things called streets.)
Now admittedly, the photo is taken from the wrong angle and I could hardly get the guys to dress appropriately on such short notice, although I think I did get Greg (second from the left, occupying the position held by Paul on the album cover) to carry a cigarette. Nonetheless, I think it’s a pretty cool shot.

Want to play along? FlashBack Friday posts can be any medium you choose, photographic, video, music, or just a story. Share your flashback on Fridays and link back to me. Visit other participants and get some dirt on your fellow bloggers. 🙂

~ by CableGirl on Friday, March 21, 2008.

16 Responses to “FlashBack Friday – Abbey Road”

  1. Aww, Weenie! “He boinked me!” haaaa

  2. Cool trip and cool post. I love the Beatles, but I always ended up working overtime shifts on my spring breaks.

  3. Fab memory… thanks for sharing. The photo with your friends is great, glad they were willing to play along. For some reason my Hubs downloaded several Beatles tunes in German… fun to listen to, but he doesn’t even speak Deutsch.

  4. Ah, I just listened to Abbey Road two days ago. My favorite Beatles album. Except for maybe Revolver, and not counting the White Album. Ahh, forget it. I like ’em all.

  5. That’s very cool!

  6. It’s so funny, CG, because I was planning a post on the Paul death thing for a flashback Friday or a Music Monday (had to do with the end of the first side of the Sgt. Pepper album). What a cool story!

  7. I think this is my favorite Flash Back to date-but then again you know I have a healthy obsession with the Beatles as well.

  8. I love that. Very cool. I just think the Beatles boys wee messing with peoples heads just for fun. Hee hee.

  9. you should be proud. It’s great… and really, who doesn’t love the Beatles??? AMAZING!!!

  10. Great picture and great story. Being a native Floridian (and going to college in the state as well) I can totally understand the appeal of spring break in the UK.

  11. Awesome story!

  12. That is so awesome that you got to experience something so close to your heart! I know nothing about the Beatles but I have seen that album cover before. That was really interesting all the “symbolism” associated with it.

  13. I love that your friends posed for that photo. What a fantastic memory. I love the Beatles too; so glad Paul didn’t die then… or he wouldn’t have been around to shell out the $48.4 to his lovely ex, right ?! Crazy, that.

  14. What a great idea for a photo! I love the Beatles, too. This Flashback Friday meme is so much fun. 🙂

    ~Tui

  15. I remember the hullabaloo of this album cover very well. Fun times. I was reading through your comments and when I read amy’s saying she knows nothing about the Beatles, I really felt old! Can it be???

  16. Loved this post! My mom used to make us sit there and listen to her Beatles albums and talk about the covers (especially this one) but I never knew all of that. Now I can go back and tell her what I know, hehe.

Leave a Reply

 
