1%

About a week ago my friend Heather went to Austin Texas for the big SXSW (South by South West) music festival. She had tried to convince me to meet her there, but sadly it just wasn’t possible. CableDad’s hectic work schedule has left me a virtual IT Widow for the past few weeks and there was no way I could possibly leave town and expect him to be able to work from home as would have been necessary for me to go out of town. Trust me, I was MEGA-bummed about the whole thing.

I was even more bummed when she started emailing me pictures from one of the shows she went to her first night there.

Ok, bummed isn’t the right word. How about insanely jealous.

For anyone who does not recognize the person in the above photo, let me just say, where the hell have you been for the past two decades? That guy is Perry Farrell. He and three other guys (Dave Navarro, Eric Avery and Stephen Perkins) formed the band Jane’s Addiction back in 1985 which was a pseudo punk metal hybrid. If the band doesn’t sound familiar to you, surely you’ve head of Lollapalooza. If you haven’t heard of that insanely popular yearly rock festival I suggest you crawl out from under your rock and pay attention to a bit of pop culture every now and then. I have personally known people who have come from Britain, Ireland and Germany to see a show.  I’ve meet Scandinavians and Italians at shows.  Lollapalooza has been a yearly music event since 1991 when Perry organized what became a farewell tour for Jane’s Addiction.

When I was in high school and college I was a HUGE Jane’s fan, as well as the many incarnations which followed. I was also a HUGE Nine Inch Nails (a post for next week) and Red hot Chili Peppers fan, both of which Dave Navarro played with (apologies for ending a sentence with a preposition). These bands  basically made up the largest part of the sound track to my life in the late 80s and 90s. I have very distinct and vivid memories associated with so many songs of this time period, of good, bad and insanely stupid times.

To Heather I say, this song may not be blue music, but it should have.

1%

All the people I know wanna be left alone
Some people! I don’t know?
They wont leave you alone
You gotta be just – be just like them

Biggest gang I know they call the government
Gang is a weapon
That you trade your mind in for
You gotta be just – be just like them

The gang
And the government
No different
The gang
And the government
No different
The gang
And the government
No different
That makes me 1%
That makes me 1%

Trouble comes down
Like a foot steppin heavy
Shake your fist
At the bitch
Or wave your money
You gotta be right
You gotta be right
Don’t be no
Supper for a big fish
With the big lip
And the over –
Bite – bite

You gotta bite
Bite – bite – bite – dabita
Bite – bite – badadabita
Bite – bite – bite – bite
Bite – bite – bite – bite

Sll the people I know wanna be left alone
Some people I don’t know?
They wont leave you alone!
You gotta be just – be just like them

The gang
And the government
No different
The gang
And the government
No different
The gang
And the government
No different
That makes me 1%
That makes me 1%
That makes me 1%
That makes me 1%

~ by CableGirl on Monday, March 24, 2008.

21 Responses to “1%”

  1. I ♥ Jane’s Addiction.

  2. While I know Jane et al, I don’t *know* them like I know, errr, Erasure et al. Still like me? Please still like me.

    Thanks for planing Music Monday on a MONDAY. But in my defense, there are other parts of the world that start the next day before us – No? 🙂

  3. You have most excellent taste in music. I totally dig Jane’s Addiction — and not just because I LOVE the name of the band 😉

    And I’m totally bummed for you not being able to go to SXSW…

  4. Oh man! Sounds like a blast! I’m totally a fan. Sorry you missed it.

  5. I’m sorry you didn’t get to go, how painful is that? Sending you pictures and all 🙂

    I don’t know if you saw it, but I passed an award to you over on my Award Show page.

  6. I hate that rule about not ending sentences with propositions! You may have noticed, I break it all the time.

    Sorry you couldn’t go. A real friend would’ve told you the whole thing was a letdown 🙂

  7. I’m much less familiar with Jane’s Addiction than I am with NIN and the Chili Peppers. My nephew and I are in a longstanding argument about which band is a more important influence on music and pop culture – Chili Peppers or U2. I’m afraid, that for me, U2 wins hands down. I do love both NIN and the Peppers, though.

  8. It totally wasn’t the same without you. Perry goes every year, apparently, so I hope we can be together for it next year.

  9. After that song ends, I want it to automatically go into “I Would For You”…”oh baby…I’m so tired…” lol

  10. Oh yeah! Jealous doesn’t begin to say how I feel… this would have been an awesome concert! Sorry you missed it.

  11. We’re showing our age =) Lucky Heather!

  12. If you are interested to join us in Wijvenweek.be, don’t hesitate. You are still so welcome to join in! Just send an e-mail to info@wijvenweek.be and your blog will be added to the participants list and its posts will be captured as well in the feedreader at http://www.wijvenblog.be .

    If you want some more information in English about it, drop me a comment and I’ll e-mail more info!

  13. The first part of the concert, btw, was horrible, so don’t feel TOO bad. We’d just listened to an hour-long set of these two people dj-ing from their laptops, which isn’t terribly exciting to watch. It was ok, nothing special. Then Perry came out with his own dj, and basically supervised him doing the same thing. As excited as I was to see him in the flesh, it got really old watching him sit there and sip a drink while he watched someone else mix 80s dance songs. Then he finally came forward and started singing along with one of the songs (I forget what it was). Then he launched into remixes of a few Jane’s Addiction songs, and it was…magical. He is unafraid of the crowd, and in fact revels in them (us) touching him and taking pictures of him and singing along with him. I wanted to sob with happiness, but I have to say…my ecstasy was somewhat tempered by the feeling something was missing, and that something was definitely Paige.

  14. Was she seriously THAT close to Perry??!! OMG!

    I so heart Dave Navarro. He’s on my superyummy list. So is Trent Reznor…

    ugh.. I forgot to log out of wordpress again.

    ~Nis

  15. That picture looks like she was standing right next to him or at least fairly close with a good zoom button. Sorry you missed your concert. Those bands remind me of all the mix tapes I used to make in high school.

  16. Yes, I was standing right next to him, there was no zoom.

  17. I didn’t care for Jane’s Addiction until about two years ago when my cousin had me listening to them in her car…I have Nothing’s Shocking-though, I don’t listen to it too often.

  18. I’m so sorry that you didn’t get to go! I’m a bit all over the place with my music choices but can honestly save that I love all those bands. Except Dave Narvarro really lost me when he did that Rock Star show, I don’t know, something wasn’t right.

  19. Totally jealous. And the preposition rule is silly. I makes for silly, convoluted sentences (i.e.”…both of which are bands with which Dave Navarro played.” Who talks like that?) Ignore it and live a happy life.

  20. Thanks for visiting my blog! That Jenn is too kind. I LOVED NIN in college. You’ve inspired me to find those old tapes again. I really love that song: “Something I can Never Have”. So beautiful.

  21. I love music festivals!!! I used to go to 2 or 3 a year but haven’t been able to afford it since the kiddos were born. Boo. Will have to revamp my attitude because this post just reminded me of how much I miss them!

Leave a Reply

 
