this and that

I haven’t really been in much of a bloggy mood these past few days, but then I got this “award” from Huckdoll.

I haven’t been reading her long, but then it really didn’t take me long to realize how much I like her style.  Apparently it isn’t one sided.  I only wish we could meet in real life.  So, if you haven’t been to The Hood, get your ass over there right now.

I’ve noticed of late that the Weekend Blog Hopping seems to have slowed down a bit.

Hey, guys, what’s that about?  Get your hop on and hop over to Busy Dad’s Blog to check it out.  I say this weekend should be a hoppin’ one.

But most importantly, I want to remind everyone that April 22nd is Earth Day, that’s a little less than a month away.

I wasn’t going to post a reminder about this for awhile yet (April 1st to be specific) but Hilary at Mom’s Tinfoil Hat called me this morning and told me about a report she had heard on the radio about The Great Pacific Garbage Patch. To say I was disgusted would  be the understatement of the century.  However, I’ve chosen not to blog on it because she has assured me she will tonight.

In the meantime, I’d like to encourage everyone I know to take steps to be more green: reduce your garbage output, use non-toxic cleaners, drive less, walk more.  Over the next month I will be posting tidbits of information about easy ways to reduce your ecological footprint. 

Do you know what your ecological impact is?  Here is an easy quiz from the Earth Day website to calculate your footprint.

When at the market with CableDad a week or so back and I realized that I had not brought enough of my own cloth bags, the attendant at the checkout counter asked me if we wanted paper or plastic.  CableDad’s response was, “I don’t have a dog in this race.  Either is fine,”  meaning, of course, that the decision really didn’t effect him either way. He got a loud and long verbal bolloxing from me, I promise you.

Sadly, his comment is indicative of the attitude of far too many people on this planet.   If you live on this planet you have a dog in the race.  Don’t make the mistake and think your decisions don’t have an impact.

~ by CableGirl on Wednesday, March 26, 2008.

15 Responses to “this and that”

  1. Amen! I’m constantly trying to convert my husband. Alas, those light bulbs are tough – too flourescent and they don’t work with dimmer switches. Got any other ideas?

  2. Congrats… Huckdoll is the bomb. Truly peeps, blog hoppin’s the most fun you can have with your clothes on. If you recycle all the beer cans and wine bottles, it’s also environmentally friendly. =)

    (sidebar – we’ve been recycling for years, and when we can find them, we’ve been switching out our old light bulbs with those new florescent ones.)

  3. I think this past weekend was slow because of the holiday. Hopefully Blog Hoppin’ will be back in full swing this weekend. (Although, I actually have plans – hey, it’s like I have a life – on Fri. night.)

    I agree; Huckdoll rocks!

    I also agree about the planet. I look forward to your helpful hints. I’m the dog that’s all bark and very little bite when it comes to doing everything I can in protecting the planet.

  4. Counting down to Earth day myself. Before that happens, though Earth Hour is happening on the 29th. It would be really cool if you joined and maybe convinced some of your readers to do the same 🙂

    http://www.earthhour.org

  5. I’ll have to check out Huckdoll’s blog. We’re redoing and redoing our lives to reduce our carbon imprint. It never seems to be enough.

  6. Earth Day annually overshadows my birthday and is thus celebrated annually in Pookaland on April 29th =)

  7. Our 8 year old washer broke yesterday and we replaced it with an environmentally friendly front loader washer as well as a dryer.

  8. Ha, as you may have guessed, my day was a little too full to blog about the patch of plastic garbage twice the size of Texas that is floating in the Pacific ocean. *shudder*

  9. Amen!

    And congrats on the award! What an honor to get one from Huckdoll!

  10. Darnit! I did it again! Oh well. Both me & my evil twin heart you!

  11. Doing a little Blog Hopping Early while Bouncing a Cranky Baby… I have been short on time since baby and the subject of a 4 part series on my blog…

  12. Along with the cloth bags, I’ve found that milk crates work well for heavy groceries. Like, er, milk. And stuff.

    At Kr0ger the other day, I was short 2 bags and the nice checkout lady gave me some free Kr0ger ones. Probably because she noticed that the rest of my bags were from different places, but still.

  13. You know, when we lived in the city, we would put all of our recycling in one box, leave it out by the dumpster and all of the dumpster divers would sort it and take it. It was the best thing about living in the city – those guys should have really been paid. Now that I live in the burbs I need to make a very conscious effort to recycle, but it’s so worth it to know that the efforts I’m putting in will possibly help my children in the long run – and it’s teaching them good habits. That included walking EVERYWHERE as we only have one vehicle which Baby Daddy takes 99% of the time. Ya us!

    Are you guys doing the Earth House thing on March 29th?

  14. What a wonderful award! I love the prose! Very apt. And, perfect for you. You’d be proud. I bought my first 7th generation the other day. I didn’t tell the spouse (he’d kill), but I felt like I’d done something!

  15. Very cool on the award! My sentiments exactly! But I would not punch you in the ovary because that seems too painful. Maybe just kick you in the head because I know you can take it 🙂 And thanks for injecting the Blog Hop with a little adrenaline!

Leave a Reply

 
