This is Spinal Tap

I recently saw a commercial on television which had me in stitches.  It was a commercial for American Express (I think) and it was using a Spinal Tap song:

Now, for the life of me, I can’t imagine what the advertising execs were thinking when they proposed and then approved this song for the ad.

If by some freak of nature you are not familiar with the movie This is Spinal Tap, let me give you brief summary.  It is Rob Reiner at his best…. ok, maybe his best after The Princess Bride.  It is a mocumentary about a 70s-80s heavy metal rock band on what becomes a farewell tour.  The movie spoofs on practically every major metal/rock band of the period but most particularly in the way that the band keeps losing drummers:

In case the subtlety of this clip is lost on you think Jimi Hendrix (self explanatory), John Bonham (Led Zeppelin’s drumer), and Bonn Scott (AC/DC’s original singer), all of whom died choking on vomit.  Think Judas Priest who, at the time, were working on their 7th drummer.  Think of the supposed curse on Grateful Dead keyboard players.   Interestingly enough, after the movie’s release, Toto’s drummer Jeff Porcaro actually did die in a gardening accident.

In all honesty, it would be impossible to catalogue all of the references made in the movie.  If you have ever had a fondness for metal/hard rock music in the 70s and 80s and have not yet seen this movie, it MUST be put on your top 10 rentals  list.

In parting, I leave you with this video, Stonehenge, which will demonstrate both the absurdity and the genius of this spoof.

Visit Soccer Mom in Denial for more Music Monday posts.

~ by CableGirl on Monday, March 31, 2008.

14 Responses to “This is Spinal Tap”

  1. Brilliant! It’s one of those movies that I’ve been meaning to watch for years – as I am a Rob Reiner, Christopher Guest, mocumentary fan. Thanks for the reminder!

  2. That has to been one of my all-time favorite movies… ‘this goes to 11…’ We got the commemorative edition of the DVD and now have turned our 14yo into a fan.

  3. Great movie!

  4. I have never seen that movie. I’ll have to head over to Neflix to put it in my queue!

    Sorry for the spam but I’m letting everyone on the Heads Or Tails blogroll know that HoT has a home of its own! You can find it HERE. 🙂

  5. LOL! I love that movie, and on a crappy morning this was a perfect bit of humor! Thanks!

  6. What a great tune and such a great group! LOL! Friggin’ great stuff. Love those movies, Best in Show is also great.

  7. I love This is Spinal Tap!

  8. One of the greatest movies ever!!! Long live the rocumentary!

  9. “I would be more upset if I wasn’t so heavily sedated.”

    Great choice!

  10. Make that list to Eleven.

  11. cablegirl! This Is Spinal Tap may be my favorite movie of all time — it’s certainly my favorite movie from the ’80s. You have made my whole day with this post.

  12. There is NOTHING better than Spinal Tap. LOVE IT.

  13. Hands down my #1 favorite funny movie of all time. Followed by Best in Show, another one of his mockumentaries. He is a genius.

  14. My favorite line from that movie was when the Boston show was canceled the manager said “it’s o.k. Boston isn’t a big college town.”

Leave a Reply

 
