and the improbability award goes to…

Thalia’s Child at Musings from a Muse.  She correctly assumed (first) that Queen Eleanor of Toronto was named after Eleanor of Aquitaine, wife to Henry II of England and mother to both King Richard and King John.  Eleanor was one hell of a woman and although she may have been shackled with the restrictions of the 12th century, she successfully manipulated her surroundings and was highly influential in both England and France during her lifetime. Basically, she just kicked ass and took no crap from any man.

Should any of you be interested in reading about my personal historical hero, I recommend the biographies my D.D. Owen and Bonnie Wheeler.  Marion Meade and Alison Weir also wrote biographies worth reading.

Amy also guessed correctly.

Heather and Pooka, you guys were totally out of the running.  I mean, I told you my reasons when we first got her.  lol.

So, Amy and Ella, I meant it when I said prizes would be offered.  Email me your snail mail addresses and you’ll have a CableGirl-surprise on its way in the mail to you. 🙂

~ by CableGirl on Saturday, April 5, 2008.

8 Responses to “and the improbability award goes to…”

  1. I missed it. I so would have won. Because I’m a winner.

    Congrats to the winners!

  2. Woohoo!!!

    You’re right – Eleanor of Aquitaine was a kick ass woman!

  3. I’ll jot those down to read after I finish my Rutherfurd books and the Follet one (I stocked up on reading material in the US).

  4. Dangit… I had you pegged for a Simpsons fan… 😉 I’ve read a few things about Eleanor… she would have made a good first lady president!

  5. I am deeply disappointed in my loss of a cable girl prize.
    K. Over it… but seriously, that Eleanor sounds amazing! No wonder you have such admiration for her!

  6. She sounds amazing and I would love to read more about her. Thanks for the book references!
    And I won? I never win anything! I think you have my email address already? or you can just chat me up!

  7. Damn. 😉

  8. I agree with Heather.
    How can we have any pudding if you didn’t specify your meat? ;-P

Leave a Reply

 
