Make a statement

Tomorrow, as I hope all of you know, is Earth Day 2008.  What do you plan to do?

In case you want to do something proactive but can’t think of what, let me offer a suggestion or two (or 4):

  1. Go out and pick up trash.  It’s easy.  It may be dirty, but well, get over it.
  2. Make a promise to yourself, call it a resolution if you prefer, that you will make changes in your lifestyle to help you and your family be more green.  Blog about them.  Let us know what you’re up to.  There’s not a one of us out there that can’t do better.
  3. Call your representatives.  The Earth Day Network is instituting a Call for Climate tomorrow.  The phone number for the Capitol Switchboard is 202-224-3121.  Ask for your representative and let them know that we need more to be done for the environment.  Demand a moratorium on new coal burning plants.  Demand renewable energy proposals.  Demand carbon neutral buildings.
  4. Sign the Sky Petition.
~ by CableGirl on Monday, April 21, 2008.

8 Responses to “Make a statement”

  1. Have you seen those commercials on tv, touting coal? Scary…

  2. #4 is done. We participate in the clean up the beach volunteer day every year (well, most years), so #1 is done. Guess I know what I’m blogging about tomorrow!

  3. Hi sweetie. How are you. We plan on planting some seeds tomorrow for Earth Day. It’s all good. 😀

  4. I’m about to do my earth day post. Good suggestions!

  5. I am so not green….. I’m like ……purple…

    I will try to do better…

    I’m so darn bad I don’t even recycle my trash. I think I live in the last city in the world that doesn’t have mandatory recycling! The closest thing I do to recycling is taking the returnables back to the store! I will learn how to recycle this week! Just because you inspired me to!

  6. We’re pretty green over here already but I’ll see what I can do. Oh and in like, T minus 5 days I’ll be trying out the Diva Cup I bought in Pittsburgh for the first time so hopefully that’ll go without a hitch.

  7. Great suggestions! As home schoolers I am really proud of how we are planning to spend our day tomorrow. Genny had some really practical and exciting ideas that she was so proud of!

  8. I was part of a huge book swap/sale for education materials, etc., this morning which included anything and everything for children and teachers – this will help everyone involved not consume more. In general, though, we’ve been changing our entire lifestyle to a greener one for the past several months.

Leave a Reply

 
